The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- Inexpensive Artwork August 14, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:23 pm

wfmwheader_163.jpg I’m not going to lie, I aspire to have a house that looks like it comes out of a Better Homes and Garden magazine. I am discovering this is very difficult while living on a budget with 2 kids constantly making a mess of it. Nothing drives me crazier than when flipping through above said magazine and seeing articles about a great “family home” and seeing a living room with glass balls all over the coffee table, stark white couches and not a toy in site. The picture of course shows a mom and dad with their 2 toddlers (again dressed in white) sitting calmly on the couch with not a hair out of place. What family is this and what sort of medication are they using (and how do I get some)?

Anywho, I do make some (pathetic) attempts at creating the Pottery Barn house I long for. One cheap way is to put some cool stuff on the wall that is inexpensive and not your usual family photos or Van Gogh poster that you bought at the art museum and are trying to pass off as art (as in what is hanging in my guest room).

I should warn you that I am pretty sure I ripped this off from Trading Spaces or something similar. You take some blank artist canvas and find some coordinating fabrics that you like and that match your decor. Place fabric over the canvas, pull tightly and staple gun it to the back of the wood frame. Voila, instant artwork.

Here is a picture of what we have done. As you can see, we used 4 canvases and hung them in a cluster (better known as a square).

wall-art.jpg

For more Works for Me Wednesday ideas check out Rocks in My Dryer.

 

13 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- Inexpensive Artwork”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Classy! I like this idea. Great writing by the way. I nearly snorted laughing at the first paragraph.

  2. Jodi Says:

    great idea!!!

  3. Ellen Says:

    Nice…

  4. TracyMichele Says:

    I LOVE this! I have a few bare walls in the house because I can’t figure out what to do. I think you have just provided me with my next weekend project! Thank you.

  5. canearl Says:

    That looks great! I’ve given up hope that my home will look nice until all of my kids are in school :). This tip could help though.

  6. What a great idea! I’ll have to try this. I had the idea of buying the canvas and painting your own painting… it seems like it wouldn’t be too hard to make your own abstract modern painting!

  7. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Gorgeous! I am so stealing your idea! Right now I have two really cool frames in my living room with scrapbook paper as the art! I thought I got away with it until my sister-in-law came in and said, “I have that scrapbook paper too!” Oh, the shame!

  8. Jamie Says:

    I am so decorating challenged, not to mention frugal…but this I can do! Thanks!!

  9. Karen Says:

    I love it…your wallet doesn’t take a hit and you can just change the fabric with the seasons if you want. Great idea!

  10. jill Says:

    this is just what my living room needs – thanks!

  11. bigbinder Says:

    I seriously did not know that you did that yourself! You are a woman of many talents.

  12. Laane Says:

    I love it!!

    Absolutely great idea


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.