The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Fridays- It’s Like A Little Bit of Heaven With A Hole In The Middle February 21, 2008

Filed under: Food,Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 11:51 pm

krispykreme.jpg I am sure there are much more relevant and important topics I could be sharing with you today, but when I find out about free donuts I feel as though it is my job, dare I say my duty, to pass on that info to my readers. Plus if you partake too, I won’t be the only one packin’ on 5 extra pounds from polishing off 3 donuts in one sitting.

Krispy Kreme is offering a coupon to buy one dozen donuts and get another dozen free. That is $.26 a donut people. Now seriously you just can’t beat that. That is a 10th of a cent per calorie and 2 cents per fat gram. Or to look at it another way, around a dollar for a mere 800 calories. That nearly half of your daily needed caloric intake FOR A DOLLAR. How much more frugal can you get???

*For the sake of journalistic accuracy, I just called Krispy Kreme to find out how much a dozen donuts were pretty much assuming that at 11:30 at night they would be closed. They were so not closed and now I am staring at that picture of donuts on the conveyor belt in the middle of a full blow PMS attack wondering what kind of insane person would get in their car and drive to Krispy Kreme at 11:30 at night. I am balancing delicately on the verge of becoming that person. Just thought you should know…

For more frugal tips, head over to Biblical Womanhood.

 

14 Responses to “Frugal Fridays- It’s Like A Little Bit of Heaven With A Hole In The Middle”

  1. Jean Says:

    You may not want to know this, but I do believe their drive thru is open 24/7.

    I do love a nice piping hot Krispy Kreme hot off the line..

  2. Amy Says:

    I believe you and I might have been seperated at birth. I think that hot Krispy Kremes are most likely what is used to line the streets of gold in heaven. Serious golden goodness. :)

  3. Heather Says:

    oh NO! k – this stinks. i gave up sugar/sweets for lent and now all i can think about is a krispy kreme donut… guess i’ll have to wait until sunday…

  4. Melissa Says:

    Thank you – I think!

  5. Tonya Says:

    Hey, if you go while the fresh hot now sign is on, and your family each get a free donut to eat while shopping, your cost goes down even more. woo-hoo!

  6. Char Says:

    I once made Brad drive there at 11:30 at night to get donuts. Their drive thru is open 24 hours just in case you need that 1am donuty goodness :)

  7. Chandra Says:

    Oh how I love the Krispy Kreme doughnut. Must get the coupon now!

  8. MrsScotsman Says:

    Another way to get FREE Krispy Kreme is schedule a tour. We took our Mom and Tots group a couple of weeks ago. The toddlers were facinated just watching the donuts on the conveyer belt. After the tour we each got a few donut holes. YUMMO!

  9. Jessica Says:

    O. wow. No fair. They don’t have these golden bits in my section of the country. mmm. When I go to see my mom in June…

  10. Well, I can only speak for myself, but I would NEVER judge another woman for making a sugar run no matter what the hour of the day. Sometimes, you gotta do what you gotta do!

  11. Melinda Says:

    Just reading your post made me laugh at memories of my days as an EMT on the local volunteer rescue squad. I have been to many a Krispy Kreme at hours stranger that 11pm, believe me. There is something about a 2am donut that just tastes better than during normal hours!

  12. I’m just gonna pretend I didn’t read that post…if I take even ONE eensy teensy bite…well, it’s a slippery slope I’m afraid.

    I’m VERY afraid. The baby weight is FINALLY coming off (yeah, he’s 14 months, arg) and I like being in my skinny jeans :)

  13. skiplovey Says:

    Oh man, I don’t know if I should say thanks on that coupon or not. Whoa, trouble.

    And don’t think you’re alone in the drive thru at 11:30 at night. Definitely done the donut midnight run before. And they’re not half bad if you leave a few for the morning, but just a few.

  14. jubilee Says:

    I once saw a show that devoted half an hour to the Krispy Kreme donut. My mouth watered the whole time and I am sure there was an insulin spike to go with it.
    ‘Round here, you hafta get your KK at an obliging gas station. Never hot, even if you catch the delivery guy making his delivery. Worth it though. So worth it.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.