The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works For Me Wednesday- Dishwasher Organization. June 24, 2008

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:26 pm

    First some quick bloggity business. Thanks to all of you for your brilliant advice last WFMW. I am happy to report that we are 90% of the way to being funk free thanks to some hot water, bleach and vinegar. In case you want an update, we ran an empty load with hot water and bleach and then threw in the towels with some vinegar. There is the smallest trace of funk left so we are doing a little “second verse, same as the first.”

Also last week, I started a new blog carnival over here on Thursdays called “Things I Love Thursday.” If you are lacking in inspiration tomorrow, come on over and tell us about a product you love. More info here.

Now onto the tip. I might have mentioned a time or two (or twenty) that I am bit anal about the organization of my dishwasher. And other people’s dishwashers are not immune from my meddling. So imagine my delight when a while back I was hoping around on WFMW and stumbled upon this tip from Blog in my Eye. She somehow moved me from anal to anal 2.0. When arranging your silverware in your dishwasher do it by type so that when you are putting it away, they are already grouped by where they go. You should also mix up their orientation for the best cleaning (that’s a bonus tip I got from Martha Stewart so you know it is good).

Now, here is where you get a tiny bit of insight into my crazy. I have 5 sections (spoons, forks, knives, steak knives and other utensils that don’t go in the silverware organizer thing, and kid utensils). I am slightly bothered by the fact that my small spoons and soup spoons intermingle as well as my forks and salad forks. Sometimes if I am feeling particularly anal, I will orient each one in the same direction so that the intermingling is offset a bit.

*uncomfortable silence, crickets chirpping…ahem.

Please come back and read me again after that was just put out there for the world to read. I swear in many ways I am a very normal person (hubby, mom, dad, bro and Nicol-shut it).

For more tips, head over to Rocks In My Dryer.

 

18 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday- Dishwasher Organization.”

  1. Tracye Says:

    I’m so with you on this.

    Only, and I hate to brag, I have six sections in mine. My soup spoons and tablespoons don’t intermingle. Same with dinner forks and salad forks.

  2. Mary Jo Says:

    My dishwasher has to be arraged just so too and I consider it full if one rack is full because I do not like to have dishes on a rack they should not go on. It drives me crazy when DH loads the dishwasher. It also drives me crazy when I have gone shopping put all the groceries away and he comes home and rearranges the refridgerator. He dosen’t do that one as often but AHG!!

  3. jubilee Says:

    Oh, the horror of intermingling! The intermingling!
    So, glad I’m not the only one!

  4. Heather Says:

    I am a dishwasher organizer as well … :)

  5. CoCo Says:

    Actually, I am not anal about dishwashers, so I honestly don’t know where you get that!!! But I think this is a very good tip. I don’t really like sorting the silverware at the end. This is not anal–it’s practical. Now THAT you may have gotten from me!! Love–MOM

  6. Nicole Says:

    I really need to have you over for dinner so I can 1. learn how to load my dishwasher and 2. get a good laugh. I am incredibly anal in a lot of ways, but by the end of the day I just smile knowing that I remembered to actually hit the start button on the silly thing. As always you make me laugh.

    As a side note – how do you avoid impaling yourself on sharp knives or your forks when they are just hanging out waiting to stab you??

  7. Kaye Says:

    Wow…I’m just the opposite. I WANT my utensils to intermingle. I have a problem that just changing the orientation does not fix. We still end up with spoons that well, spoon, so only the edges and top and bottom one get clean while the “spooned” ones stay grimey. And I don’t wash my steak knives or cutting knives (aren’t all knives cutting knives?!) in the dishwasher because it dulls them. They are all handwashed (carefully). Funny…we’re anal about the opposite things for very different reasons. It’s okay, though. I won’t hold it against you. =) By the way…I gave you credit for last week’s tip over at my blog today for WFMW! Thanks!

  8. Jessica Says:

    You are too much. JUst put the dishes in and slam the door shut already! :)

    About towels. I was on vacation and read your post but could not comment. My funk went away when I made the front of my front-load washing machine a tiny bit higher than the back (water could not rot inside anymore) and started using untold amounts of baking soda. I prefer that to bleach or vinegar bc it leaves not smell behind. And helps keep them brighter.

  9. I do this but I also include a little section for measuring spoons and another for things like the orange peeler, potato peeler, etc. So I’ve got six… spoons, forks, knives (we don’t dishwash steak knives), measuring spoons, and two for misc stuff. It makes it much faster!

  10. Cristina Says:

    You can call it anal if you like but it sounds practical to me. And don’t fret the intermingling….think how quickly and effciently you will be able to put away your spoons since they are all facing the same way. If they were separate then you would have to flip them back and forth before putting them away. Nice tip!

  11. Alicia Says:

    I do the same thing. I have to have my silverware seperated and my knives have to be pointed downward. This is when I use the dishwasher. I prefer to hand wash. I have to basically wash them then re-wash them in clean water as hot as the faucet will give me. Thank goodness for gloves.

  12. Erin G Says:

    I’m with Kaye – spoons that spoon (especially baby ones) don’t get clean… and half-up/half-down means only HALF of them get clean… sometimes before I run the dishwasher, I intentionally intermingle things up a bit!

    knives down is really important if you have pups who like to help lick stuff clean that’s already been loaded but not totally washed (guilty).

  13. Liz Says:

    I’m anal about my dw too – Chris will load it … and I secretly go and rearrange it to fit more dishes in :)

  14. dad Says:

    too bad you are not as picky with your automobiles!!!!!!!!.they both are screaming to be cleaned inside.

  15. CLEAVERMAMA Says:

    OH MY GOODNESS! I did not know about this and the fact that I just left your house and did not tease you about this disappoints me to no end. From now on, I need to read Dirty Diapers in the morning before I see you! …………………….. I do still love you!

  16. Memarie Lane Says:

    I deliberately intermingle my silverware. Otherwise the spoons and forks “nest” and don’t get clean.

  17. Never woulda thought of this! Guess it’s like putting the whites in the white bag and the colors in the color bag when you’re taking your clothes off at night.

  18. Jen Says:

    It takes all sorts of people to make the world go round! I would have never in a million years thought about organizing my dishwasher, but the idea about grouping like silverware together is brilliant! Thanks for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.