The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

I’m climbing on my soapbox June 4, 2007

Filed under: Soapbox — thediaperdiaries @ 9:23 pm

My mom saved this article for me because she knows how much I used to love working with Down’s Syndrome children when I lived among the land of the gainfully employed. I find this trend so sad because nearly every parent of a child with DS would tell you what a blessing they have been. Difficult-yes, but so much joy also.  Thankfully I read another article that in West Michigan a majority of women either refuse testing or decide to continue their pregnancy despite negative results. I know this is a touchy subject, but it breaks my heart that anyone would decide to end a pregnancy because the raising of that child will be difficult. What are the guarantees for any child? I think we are naive to think some test done while a baby is in the womb will predict how difficult our children will have it in life. There are a million different things that can go wrong in their 18 years under our care and a million more after they leave home.

 I have chose not to have any testing with any of my children, but I know that whatever child God sees fit to bless me with will be treasured from the minute it is conceived. I think we are sliding down a slippery slope with all this testing and genetic manipulation. I worry as we all strive for “perfect” children we are teaching the children we have a poor lesson in what it means to care for “the least of these.”

I’m climbing off, but I would love to know your thoughts.

 

2 Responses to “I’m climbing on my soapbox”

  1. The Worse Half Says:

    You go girl.

  2. Sidetail Says:

    I agree with you! I wrote a huge paper for my senior seminar class on this very topic. How does anyone know for sure what a child will be like or what they will bring into our lives until they experience it? The tests deal with probabilities and averages and can not foresee the future in any definite form. Downs affects children to such varying degrees that it becomes difficult to predict how each individual, precious child will express this gene.


Leave a Reply

