The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- Playgroups June 6, 2007

Filed under: Motherhood,Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 12:19 pm

wfmwheader_16.jpgToday the theme over at Rocks in My Dryer is the “Mom I’m Bored” addition. Basically any idea to cure summer boredom. Since I don’t have any children in school beyond preschool, summer doesn’t really present any unique challenges that I don’t have all year long in the trying to dream up something to entertain my kids (besides the standbys TV and computer time)

That being said the best thing I have found is joining a mom’s group/playgroup. When we lived in Chicago, it was a wonderful group of moms who met weekly for bible study and fellowship while our kids played with a babysitter.

Since we moved, I have joined 2 moms groups. MOPS is a great group that meets at churches around the country. I was skeptical when I heard you made crafts every week, but at my church the crafts have actually been very cool and I have unleashed my inner Martha. While I am bonding with other mommies, my kids are basically getting a Sunday school lesson downstairs. The bummer here is that it only meets during the school year so this does nothing to solve the above problem.

My other group is a local chapter of Mom’s Club international. This group is a lifesaver. We have weekly playgroups and several other activities during the week. Yesterday we toured a local Michael’s and each kids got to make a craft. Next week we head to Marble Slab Creamery (there is often a lot of food involved). The best part is, if I am bored and there is nothing on our mom’s club calendar, someone is usually sending out emails for impromptu playdates.

I encourage you to look around in your area and find out what is being offered for moms. There are many more groups besides the ones I have mentioned. It is a great way to connect, make great friends and keep the boredom away.

 

3 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- Playgroups”

  1. I’m in my local MOMS Club and we went strawberry picking this morning and we’re going to the zoo on Friday!I’d highly recommend it as well!

  2. Cherie Says:

    We have a playgroup organized by my church, and I love it. It is definitely more for us moms, than for the children… but they love it too!

  3. Georgia Mom Says:

    Love MOPS!! When I my kids were younger I was so into MOPS that I was Coordinator for 2 years! I even went to the National Convention. I think it’s the best place for Mom’s with young kids to be! I’m glad you found a good group.

    Blessings,
    Georgia Mom


Leave a Reply

