The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Simple Pleasures June 18, 2007

Filed under: Family,Motherhood — thediaperdiaries @ 8:36 pm

Spent lots of time tonight down on the floor interacting with the girls. I don’t think I do this enough. We are always running around to all the super fun things I have planned for them. The trade off is we don’t “play together” enough.

My one year old is at the great stage where we can have so much fun just rolling around. She giggles and giggles as I chase her around the floor. My 3 1/2 year old was stuck at the table refusing to eat because something orange was on her pasta (a tomato, the horrors) so I got 1/2 hour to just be silly with the youngest. We rarely get one on one time cause she is the second kid and that is just the way it is.

Finally, my oldest finishes her pasta (complete with exaggerated gagging noises…maybe this will lead to an Oscar someday) and we play board games. Again, we don’t get to do this too often because the youngest is always grabbing at things and getting in the way, but she went to bed without a hitch. I played Old Maid, Go Fish, Dominoes and Memory. I won Old Maid, she won Go Fish (legitimately), I won Dominoes and she won Memory (with a little help from me “forgetting”).

Nothing beats these moments. I think I need to slow down and deschedule more often.

 

2 Responses to “Simple Pleasures”

  1. Sidetail Says:

    You are worried about seeing him spend his early years in doing nothing. What! Is it nothing to be happy? Nothing to skip, play, and run around all day long? Never in his life will he be so busy again. ~Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Emile, 1762

  2. thediaperdiaries Says:

    I love this. I want to be a toddler again 🙂


Leave a Reply

