The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love- Ice Cream June 21, 2007

Filed under: Food,Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 6:30 am

a_ice_cream_cone.jpgToday is the first day of summer and nothing says summer like ice cream (and nothing says ice cream like pregnancy, I eat gallons of the stuff when I am preggo). I have discovered some fabulous, semi healthy ice creams I thought I would pass on.

Dreyer’s makes a slow-churned ice cream with 1/2 the fat and 1/3 the calories of regular ice cream. This way if you eat half the tub you can feel half as guilty. I highly recommend the special edition American Idol flavor “Take the Cake.” It is like cake batter or birthday cake ice cream you find at your local ice cream parlor. They have all sorts of other amazing flavors that cater to your ice cream fantasies (insert inappropriate comment here).

In the ice cream sandwich department, I believe no one does it better than Skinny Cow. They too have lots of different flavors, but my favorite is the chocolate peanut butter. In my expert opinion, chocolate peanut butter anything is amazingly tasty. I am a firm believer that when I get to heaven, I will eat a steady diet of the stuff and stay slim and trim. I am not sure that I am using correct theology there, but I am sure that is in the Bible somewhere.

If you are in the Midwest, you must try the best ice cream ever, Oberweis. If you are not in the Midwest, you should fly there and try this ice cream. It is so good that my hubby and I walked over there from my brother’s wedding reception in our bridesmaid dress and tux to have a scoop (we didn’t miss anything, the reception wasn’t really in full swing yet). This is not remotely healthy, but so worth cheating on any diet you might be following. If you are pregnant you should just set up a tent in front of the store and move in.

Finally, to celebrate the first day of summer, Culvers is giving away free ice cream today!!! You can find out where one is on their website and what ice cream they are serving.

Again, I am in no way affiliated with anything I promote and am receiving nothing to promote it. I could seriously use a lot of free ice cream though so contact me if you want me to continue to shamelessly promote your products.

 

Leave a Reply

