The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Veggie Booty June 29, 2007

Filed under: Food — thediaperdiaries @ 7:06 am

veggie-booty.jpg Normally when our phone rings at 7:15 in the morning we get a little worried that some sort of catastrophe has occured. It has. My mother-in-law was calling to tell us that veggie booty has been recalled.

Some of you might be thinking, “Get a grip lady, this isn’t a national tragedy, it’s just a snack food.” Really? Cause in our house it is a staple food and one of the only “vegetables” I can persuade my 3 1/2 year old to eat (besides Flat Earth Chips). “Those aren’t veggies,” you say. Really? You must not have a child who is a picky eater, cause if you did you would realize you call anything a veggie at that point. French fries=vegetable, potato chips=vegetable, and other veggie flavored thing=vegetable…

Which brings us back to veggie booty. How is it that a picky eater likes something coated in spinach and kale powder? No offense to Robert’s Gourmet, but the stuff is tastes nasty(their Pirate’s Booty however…I could eat a whole bag in one setting). So I have been feeding my kids the stuff, blissfully unaware the I could be feeding them salmonella. Maybe that is the cause of their recent behavior (see here for a stellar example).

So I now am ready to empathize with you moms who were devestated by the Thomas the Train recall. Truth be told, I really didn’t care about it before. With 2 girls, we frankly just aren’t that into trains around here. Now, I feel your pain.

 

One Response to “Veggie Booty”

  1. movingmama Says:

    I am so with you on the veggie thing – I have to take baby food veggies and cook them into pancakes to get mine to eat them… Poor Thomas – his smiley face will never seem the same.


Leave a Reply

