The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

High Fiber Breakfast July 10, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:18 pm

wfmwheader_16.jpg  I am sure you have heard by now that the latest health craze is adding more fiber to your diet. Fiber helps you feel full, helps prevent disease and makes you regular. Oh yeah, today we will be discussing poop.

I am a big fan of Dr. Oz from Oprah fame (I loathe to admit that I watch Oprah, but who am I kidding, I do). I loved his books You an Owner’s Manual and You on a Diet and we have really tried to change the way we eat around here because of them. One big way is trying to increase our fiber intake. The goal is to have enough fiber in your diet so that your poop is shaped like and S or C. Seriously, you are supposed to pay attention to this because it is a good indicator of how your general health.

So to this end, we have gotten rid of all white stuff (pasta, bread, rolls) and have switched to whole grains. We have tried to increase our fruit and veggie intake. I have also discovered an ingenious way to get more fiber into my breakfast. I like a smoothie in the morning. It is easy to make and I get more fruit in my diet. So per Dr. Oz’s suggestion, I have started adding a tablespoon of Metamucil to my smoothie. You can’t really taste it and it is packed with fiber. Happy eating (and pooping)

Tomorrow, on Things I Love Thursday (when you read that, I hope you hear a deep, soap opera announcer voice), I will be discussing another high fiber love of mine. Until then, check out other Works for Me Wednesday ideas over at Rocks in My Dryer.

 

15 Responses to “High Fiber Breakfast”

  1. diatribal Says:

    Ha! I, too, loathe that I love Oprah. I DVR her daily.

    Thanks for the poopy tip! 😉

  2. Chrystal Says:

    Hey…I’m becoming a healthnut junkie and have discovered a slightly cheaper way to increase fiber. If you have access to a health food store, you can Psyllium Husks. These are pure fiber. One tablespoon is packed with 20% of your daily need. I mix it with Orange Juice as it just adds what seems like “extra pulp”. Adding it to smoothies would be wonderful too.

    I paid $6 for a container that has lasted me about six weeks!

  3. Jill Says:

    Great post! And I am glad you are spreading the word about nutrition. The old saying, “You are what you eat” is so true! I, too, post about health and nutrition things on my blog. We changed in our eating about a year ago and I can’t tell you what a big difference it has made for us!
    I’ll be sure to check back for your other fiber love!

  4. lookmomlook Says:

    Another way to add fiber is with ground flax seed. You know my kids poopy issues and that worked really well. You can just sprinkle it in their PBJ sandwiches, oatmeal, cereal, or whatever else you can think of. It’s really inexpensive too.

  5. Lana G! Says:

    Alphabet poop – Fabulous. Will have to go and get me more fiber!

  6. I like Dr. Oz, too!

    I only get to catch Oprah every once in a while, but she is very addicting!! 🙂

    Jane, Pinks & Blues Girls

  7. bloginmyeye Says:

    What an appropriate post for a blog named the Diaper Diaries. We’ve got some work to do in that area in this house.

  8. Candace Says:

    I’m with you on watching Oprah, but hate to admit it. I never knew the poop stuff. Gross, but good to know.

  9. Ellen Says:

    I love my 9g of fiber per serving Trader Joe’s High Fiber Cereal loaded with blueberries and a banana and it’s only 1.99 a box! blessings…

  10. pdxWoman Says:

    I use Benefiber, which has even less taste than Metamucil and dissolves better — I can even put it in plain water with a squeeze of lemon and not taste the Benefiber. Absolutely no grit at all.

  11. momof2ballerinas Says:

    I love Dr. Oz & that is actually about the ONLY time I do watch Oprah, lol.

  12. bigbinder Says:

    How interesting. Just last night at my Weight Watchers meeting we talked about how if you increase your fiber from 25 to 35 grams per day you lose quite a bit more weight. Of course, we were also warned to drink lots more water. Also people were throwing out different places to get fiber and someone said that a tall Starbucks Rasberry Mocha Light Frappuchino has 2 grams of fiber and for you WW’ers out there it’s only two points. As if I need an excuse to drink more coffee…

  13. Jenny Says:

    I love Oprah AND talking about poop! And I now feel really convicted about my diet! I’m gonna put some of this stuff on my grocery list!

  14. Jamie Says:

    I am hooked to Fiber One cereal with a splash of unsweetened almond milk. I get 14 grams of fiber for very few calories. It is a good way to start every day. Thanks for posting about poop…we don’t talk much about it…but it makes a big difference in our health!!

  15. Dave Says:

    Try a product called Finer Fusion by Enzymatic. Sells at health fodd stores for around $13.95. Much better than Metamucil. Using this is the first time I have ever had the S and C shape (have been told I am IBS with constipation type). Has changed my life. Also add wheat germ and flaxseed meal to whatever I can – yogurt, soup, etc.


Leave a Reply

