The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Please stop forwarding me! July 17, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 11:04 pm

wfmwheader_161.jpg Did you know that if you forward this email on to 30 of your closest friends, Bill Gates is partnering with AOL/McDonald’s/Disneyland/Hertz rent-a-car to give you a million dollars/free trip/they will cure cancer. Do you have those people in your life who forward this stuff on to you believing it to be true (apologies to those of you who forward this stuff on…yes I am talking to you Dad)?

Now you have a weapon in the war against ridiculous email forwards. Snopes is a wonderful website that compiles all the email urban legends and investigates to filter the truth from the myth. It is my go-to resource for all email forwards. When I receive an email telling me to forward an email to everyone I know so that a little boy can have his dying wish of achieving a mass email to all corners of the world, I simply click on over to Snopes and inform the sender that this in fact is a hoax. I have found since I have started replying to all such forwards with links proving these emails to be false, they have mostly stopped (again to you Dad, stop sending me these).

The bottom line is, we all should hold steadfast to the commonly held belief that if it is too good to be true, it probably is. In that vein, Bill Gates will not be sending you any of his vast amounts of wealth, no one is collecting emails for a school project, and if you forward this on to 10 people a cute taco bell dog is not going to pop up, do a little dance and deliver you wads of cash.

However, if you subscribe to my blog, send it on to 30 of your closest friends, then you will have amazing luck, meet the man of your dreams and come upon windfalls of cash within 24 hours. No really, its true!

See more Works For Me Wednesday ideas here.

 

11 Responses to “Please stop forwarding me!”

  1. Jane Says:

    Love this! I have an aunt who sends all of this crap! Some of it is pretty racist or offensive. I have checked out a few things on snopes, but I will be sending the snopes report on to her the next time she sends me this junk!

  2. Kat Says:

    I sooooo know what you mean. It’s maddening how many of those keep coming around.

    Hugs!
    Kat

  3. Mrs.B Says:

    Another one I use is http://www.truthorfiction.com

    Whenever I would reply back in regards to either truth or fiction.com or snopes I get told that it’s ‘just for fun’ and that I’m taking it too seriously. ::rolls eyes:: Thankfully, for the most part the forwards have stopped.

    Blessings,
    ~Mrs.B

  4. Too funny! Your Dad sure is a trouble maker. I hope he straightens up after reading this!

  5. Overwhelmed! Says:

    Great minds think alike! I posted about Snoopes some time ago. I love that site!

  6. Amy Says:

    I know how you feel. We live 3,000 miles away from my hubby’s family. I got so use to his Dad sending us forwards…I didn’t want to hurt his feelings so I just deleted what he sent…and I took it to me he was alive and healthy. He died last year. My e-mail has been very quiet since then. I sometime miss knowing that he is “alive and healthy”. Maybe for those “special” people in your life that you know won’t change you can change your view and think of it as them being alive and healthy.

    ~Amy

  7. cara Says:

    Heh, I do that too. Now my mom will occasionally forward me stuff asking me to check it out for her on Snopes :oP

  8. georgiamom Says:

    Drives me crazy too! I use truthorfiction.com for the same purpose. I NEVER forward anything to anyone. And it drive me nuts when I get the “christian” ones that bascially tell me I’m a horrible human being if I don’t forward it to 10 of my closet friends. I’m doing “my closest friends” a favor by not laying a HUGE guilt trip on them! Good WFMW post!

  9. Cherie Says:

    I love snopes!

  10. CoCo Says:

    Assuming you have a mother!!! she must be a saint to put up with that dad of yours!!!!! He must have many redeeming qualities–Oh, yes I remember the Father’s Day post. But I do agree that the e-mails you are talking about lose all credibility when they tack on those promises.

  11. Andrea Says:

    My husband taught me to this, too! Now we’re working on educating HIS dad and brother!


Leave a Reply

