The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Good Food for Cheap July 20, 2007

Filed under: Food,Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:39 am

frugalfridays.jpg First of all, let me just say I have this expression that I use that I got something “for cheap.” As in, “Look at these shoes I just got at Target for cheap.” It drives my hubby nuts so the title is an homage to the hubby (not completely sure that is the correct use of homage, but that is a really smart sounding word…since I say “for cheap” I feel I need to remind you all that I am in fact not an idiot).

Anyway, we here in the Diaper Diaries household love to enjoy a night out at a great restaurant. I have a large aversion to chain restaurants so I am always looking for other ways to save money while dining out without having to resort to the local Ma and Pa diner. Don’t get me wrong, I love diner food too, but not so much for a date.

Enter Restaurant.com. They provide gift certificates to local restaurants for less than the cost of your discount. That reads very confusing so let’s just say you can get a $25 gift certificate for $10 saving you $15 off your meal (see, I am wizard in math AND english). You can search for participating restaurants by zip or by state.

The best part is they are always running specials. I mean always. It’s kind of like when Kohl’s advertises a sale as “The Big One” and I am thinking, Kohl’s is always having sales, why is this one special? Anyway, right now all gift certificates are 60% off when you use the code ENJOY at checkout. So now a $25 gift certificate is only $4 (again with the math, aren’t you just blown away?).

So slap on some make-up and a dress, call a sitter and go date your hubby again. You deserve a night out among people who are over three feet tall!

 

3 Responses to “Good Food for Cheap”

  1. Sherry Says:

    I’ll check it out. Thanks.

  2. Candace Says:

    That is awesome! I’m going to check it out now.

    I’m totally with you on the Kohls thing- the sense of urgency is a bit less when the “One Big Sale” is every weekend.

  3. Who me? Says:

    Hey genious, 60% of $25 is NOT $4. How about the price you would pay is $10.


Leave a Reply

