The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

At Least Mealtime is Never Boring July 29, 2007

Filed under: Family,Food — thediaperdiaries @ 10:03 pm

carmenmiranda.jpg Hannah has always been a very messy eater. She usually ends up wearing more food that she does eating it, and that is saying a lot considering how much she eats. She also likes to throw food on the floor. So meals are always an exercise in patience and there is a lot of clean up afterwards.

Her latest mealtime trick is to take a piece of food and place it on her head before eating it. I have no idea what this accomplishes, but she thinks she is very funny. We are trying very hard not to laugh at her, but it is proving to be very difficult. We are probably inadvertently encouraging this bizarre behavior. Today at the end of dinner she had a slight mohawk from the oil on her pasta and a few green beans stuck throughout her hair. I think we are only a few meals away from a mini Carmen Miranda.

 

4 Responses to “At Least Mealtime is Never Boring”

  1. Jenny Says:

    I love it! I bet she is hysterical! I always have the hardest time not laughing at my kiddo’s shenanigans!

  2. yestheyareallmine Says:

    LOL- that is too cute.

    All for His glory, ~Rhen

  3. Candace Says:

    My son use to touch food to his head before eating it. I think that his was more of any OCD thing- thankfully he’s grown out of it.

    Having 3 messy eaters makes me soooo thankful for my dog- who is now overweight because of all the food he eats off the floor.

  4. kathie Says:

    Ahhhh! Children and their strange eating habits. I had five (all grown and gone now, by the way) but it was never a dull moment. I remember trying not to laugh and one of them asking, “What´s wrong, Mommie? Don´t you think it´s funny?” That´s when I lost it and laughed until I cried.
    Enjoy them while they are small.
    Blessings from Costa Rica


Leave a Reply

