The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

The Other Woman in my Bed August 27, 2007

Filed under: Marriage — thediaperdiaries @ 9:13 pm

bed.jpg When I was 7 months pregant with Hannah, I began to have a lot of trouble sleeping. I had a rotator cuff impingement in my right shoulder, sciatic pain in my left hip, couldn’t sleep on my stomach (cause it was huge) and couldn’t sleep on my back (cause of my huge stomach). You see my dilemma.

So I went out an bought a body pillow. I snuggled it for a few nights and it provided some mild relief. Soon however I noticed my body pillow was being taken over a bit. Gradually, it stopped becoming my body pillow and became property of the hubby. In his defense, I am not sure it was really doing much for me. I began to feel like there just wasn’t enough room for my large preggo self, the hubby and a huge person sized pillow.

I lobbied for her to leave. The hubby protested. I briefly won the battle because lets face it, I was about to deliver a large human being and endure incredible amounts of pain and it was largely the his fault. Post baby, while I was all sleepy and distracted, she came back and has just never left. Sometimes, she nudges me to the farthest corner of the bed as she sprawls out right smack dab in the middle of the bed. Do you think she is trying to get rid of me so she can have the hubby all to herself?

I really hate that pillow.

 

10 Responses to “The Other Woman in my Bed”

  1. anne Says:

    I have one of these…she is waiting patiently under the bed for the day I need her. I’m sure we will be close friends…fortunately, Andy has a little pillow he keeps to himself to put between his knees. Hopefully, we won’t have to fight over MY pillow!!

  2. Candace Says:

    I can totally relate to this!! We’ve actually named our pillow. I can also relate to the pregnancy pains- I didn’t sleep at all while I was pregnant- with all 3.

  3. Damselfly Says:

    Just don’t paint a face on her or give her a name…. 😉

  4. lookmomlook Says:

    I ended up throwing that lady out of our bed and into the trash after the first pregnancy. She was definitely moving in on my man. You need to stop her before she goes too far!! Damn pillow.

  5. Awesome Mom Says:

    I love my body pillow, he and I are having a wonderful night time relationship. My husband hates him. He tired sleeping with one too but our bed was too small and I stole it when I was pregnant with my youngest. I was having such bad heart burn that I had to pretty much sleep sitting up and needed a ton of pillows to keep me upright.

  6. adventuremom Says:

    My hubby wanted to steal mine too. I finally hid it. 🙂

  7. adventuremom Says:

    My hubby wanted to steal mine too. I finally hid it. 🙂

  8. Georgia Mom Says:

    I wanted one of those so bad when I was pg, but never got around to getting one. However, I don’t think she would have fit in my bed with 11.2 lb baby and my fat butt!

  9. Courtney Says:

    Hmm, interesting terms used to describe your pain. Let me guess… you’re a Physical Therapist!!

    🙂

  10. bigbinder Says:

    I feel like an outcast. I must have missed out on the body pillow portion of pregnancy. Then again, our bed is a king and there actually could be several additional people in there without either my husband or me knowing it.


Leave a Reply

