The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Music Monday- Todd Agnew September 3, 2007

Filed under: Music Mondays — thediaperdiaries @ 6:39 pm

record1.jpg So it is nearly Tuesday, and I am just getting around to Music Mondays. I am hoping you will forgive me, but we spent the day at my MIL’s lake. It was wonderful and I haven’t been on the computer all day which my family has been kind enough to inform me is some sort of world record.

Maybe if they listened to more Todd Agnew, they wouldn’t be so quick to judge me and my computer habits 🙂 Just kidding of course, but if you want to be challenged and convicted this is the guy to listen too. I first discovered him when I heard this very cool intepretation of “Amazing Grace” called “Grace Like Rain” on his album of the same name. I loved his sound and the rest of the album didn’t disappoint.

I listened to it frequently and then he kind of fell of my radar until one day I came across this amazing song on the radio. I had never heard anything with lyrics like this in the Christian music world. The words that absolutely floored me were:

Cause my Jesus would never be accepted in my church
The blood and dirt on His feet would stain the carpet

Whoa. I had to really stop and listen to what he was saying, and when I did, I really had to think about who I truly believe Jesus to be and how I am representing him as someone who calls myself a Christian. So I leave you with this incredibly powerful and convicting song and an equally powerful and convicting verse.

Be imitators of God (Jesus), therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. (Eph. 5:1-2)

 

One Response to “Music Monday- Todd Agnew”

  1. Candace Says:

    That song is convicting! So true though. It reminded me of some books that Donald Miller wrote (he’s my book review this week). If you haven’t read his books you’d probably like them if you like that song. Thanks for sharing that- it gave me some stuff to really think about.


Leave a Reply

