The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Fridays- Save on Groceries September 6, 2007

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:10 pm

frugalfridays.jpg I have blogged before about ways I save money on groceries. Recently, I stumbled on a new way that has been really paying off. I have been slashing my grocery bill in half with the added bonus of getting giddy at the store every time I look at my receipt. The only downside is the stares I get as I skip through the aisles whistling while forest creatures frolic around me (okay, so that doesn’t happen, but that is how good I feel after shopping).

The Grocery Game is a list you subscribe to that tells you when items reach their lowest prices through combinations of sales and coupons. I know a lot of people do this themselves, but I find it to be so time consuming with a big stack of circulars and coupons, comparing and running from store to store, that what I save in money I lose in valuable time. This site has the added benefit of finding unadvertised sales and tracking trends so that you buy at truly the lowest price rather than just when an item is on sale.

The website states that you will spend the first few months in a stockpiling phase and won’t see the real savings until after that, but I am found I saved $40-50 right off the bat. I am really stockpiling though. I need to get creative about storage and have “borrowed” some space in my parents freezer for a little while, but it is worth it.

The added deal is that if you join, you get the first 4 weeks for only $1. After that it is $5 every 8 weeks. Still very reasonable. If you would like to check it out, I would love it if you would use my email for a referral. I am not getting paid anything to promote them, but I do earn free weeks for referrals. I would not promote them however if I didn’t believe in the program.

My referral email is my personal email so don’t use the one on this website. However, if you are ,email me at thediaperdiaries (at) gmail (dot) com and I will share my other email with you. How exciting is that? I think that alone could just be incentive enough. The intrigue of it all.

For more frugal tips, check out Biblical Womanhood.

 

7 Responses to “Frugal Fridays- Save on Groceries”

  1. Elaine Says:

    Hmmm. I will have to mull this over for awhile. Do you shop at more than one store? The two grocery stores listed for my area are not the ones I usually shop at, but I’ve heard that the expensive stores can be made the cheapest using this strategy. Any further advice? -e.

  2. mom2fur Says:

    I love Grocery Game! I’ve been doing it for about 2 years now and have saved so much money. I actually started trying to put my savings into a different account after I shop. (It’s easy since I do on-line banking.) That way, the money I save doesn’t just get absorbed back into the household budget. I actually put away enough this year to buy myself a $700 computer!
    I think GG is very affordable. I save way more each week than it cost me. It takes a bit of time to build up your stockpile. But now, my grocery lists are pretty short because I already have a lot on hand–stuff I bought cheap!
    Elaine, be careful of those ‘cheap’ stores. Sometimes, if you make a price book you’ll find most of their items are a bit more expensive. A penny here and there really adds up. If you can combine sales and coupons, and it isn’t a big trip in your car (we have to consider gas prices these days, too!), then a ‘fancier’ store might actually be cheaper in the long run.

  3. Joanna Says:

    Where do you find a list of what stores it covers in your area? I looked at the site and couldn’t find one.

  4. Jill Says:

    I joined GG 2 1/2 years ago and love it! Unfortunately I moved to a rural community and don’t use the service like I once did. But if you live in a non-rural town, it’s worth every penny!!! If I lived back in the DFW area, I would subscribe to 2 grocery stores as well as CVS and Walgreens. The savings and stockpiling would be phenominal!!!

    My best shopping trip while using GG – Albertson’s pre-coupon total =$75, only paid $3!!

  5. The Worse Half Says:

    My wife rocks. This has saved us some cash, which means I can work less while eating one of the seventeen bags of pork rinds she got for 11 cents a bag.

    (I’m sarcastic, but consider this the official worse- half endorsement of this plan)

  6. SAHMmy Says Says:

    I am a big lurker on the GG message boards! The only list store in my area is Walgreens, and I figure I can read the flyer in the same amount of time I can read the list. Great program–the stockpiling advice really changed the way I look at grocery shopping.

  7. adventuremom Says:

    Ok, I signed up and referred you so this better work 🙂


Leave a Reply

