The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner September 8, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — thediaperdiaries @ 8:05 pm

dirty-dancing.jpg Saturday night and I have found Dirty Dancing on TV. I never tire of this movie. I remember when it came out watching it in Lisa B’s basement rewinding the final dance over and over. I had the soundtrack and the second soundtrack (on cassette) which I listened to endlessly. I even remember everyone started dressing like Baby (who didn’t cut off their jeans at the knee and roll them up after that movie came out).

My poor hubby can’t stomach another viewing though so he has retired upstairs. Baby has just uttered the classic line, “I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.” I of course uttered it right along with her. Kind of a pathetic Saturday night actually…

 

10 Responses to “Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner”

  1. Summer Says:

    You know, I only saw this movie for the first time about 3 years ago. Don’t know how I never even knew about it till then. I enjoyed it.

  2. j2andn2 Says:

    I love that movie! I had the soundtrack too.
    Who didn’t attempt the final lift in that last dance when they were younger?!

  3. The Worse Half Says:

    This movie could force any husband into a corner.

    Let’s review… bleating-man Swayze discovers affluent, un-rhinoplastied “Baby” and asks her to dance well enough to fund his sexy dance partner’s back alley, soon-to-be-botched, medical procedure.

    Baby’s doctor-daddy steps in to save the day but tells her to stay away from the dancers. Fortunately for Baby (and us all) she is able, through the faultless execution of an overhead lift and sexy arm-tickle, to convince him that this is the ideal, aseptic set of peers.

    Gosh-be-darned the Hollywood Foreign Press for that Golden Globe snub…

  4. cleaver mama Says:

    You are killing me! I am laughing so hard right now. If it wasn’t past our phone curfew, I would be calling you right now!

  5. goodideamomma Says:

    What channel was this on? I unfortunately couldn’t resist a good episode of Cops. I am so looking forward to the new Fall Season.

  6. bigbinder Says:

    I went to bed really early, I missed Dirty Dancing? And COPS? Why didn’t anyone call me? Or maybe someone did and I slept through it.
    I remember this movie – and the soundtrack. One of the songs (OK it was “I Just Had The Time Of My Life”) was my senior class song. Little did I know, the ‘times of my life’ were yet to come, but back then it seemed about right.

  7. Char Says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie. Whenever I’m feeling down and in need of some feel goods I pop this in (or find it accidently on tv, because it’s on all the time it seems). Brad too hates this movie, and always finds another part of the house to hide in whenever I watch it. It only gets better when I watch it with a friend or sister-in-law!

  8. Candace Says:

    I too love this movie. I remember sneaking down to our neighbors house to watch it because my parents wouldn’t let me. Ahhhh memories….

  9. HolyMama! Says:

    I saw that movie in the theatre with my grandmother. she was horrified afterwards, that she’d taken me!

    i wanted Baby’s hair, and suffered through bad perms in my quest… good times

  10. lookmomlook Says:

    This movie makes me want to gouge my eyes out. It does make me laugh but my older sisters obsession with Patrick Swayze was enough to ruin any goodness this movie holds. I still can’t get over his hair in this movie. Why would anyone want to run their fingers through that mullett?


Leave a Reply

