The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- I’m running with scissors September 11, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:18 pm

wfmwheader_163.jpg I’m not really running with scissors, but I will impart some motherly wisdom on how to help your kids use them.

I have discovered the greatest beginner scissors, but imagine my frustration when I can’t seem to find them anywhere on the internet. How is that possible? So instead of a picture I will give you my attempt at a description. Instead of having the two ends that your fingers go through, there is a spring loop so kids don’t have to figure out how to open and shut the scissors. If anyone finds these, please alert me so I can amend my post.

*still can’t find them on the web, but here is a not so great picture.

                                                        scissors.jpg

I know there are lots of different “training” scissors, but these have been far and away the best. They really helped Lily master cutting in a short amount of time and “graduate” to “big girl scissors.” I have also apparently decided to attempt the world record for the most annoying quotation marks in a paragraph (I am normally not this annoying with the quotation marks, don’t hold it against me, please come back).

So after your child is beginning to figure out this whole scissor thing, the key is to direct their new found love of cutting into something productive so as to avoid the cutting of things in the no-no category (bills, clothes, playmate’s hair). Here is where my real tip is: coupons.

I am a big coupon cutter, but there are a lot of useless coupons in the paper. So after I have finished cutting out what I want, I hand over the “left-overs” and let Lily go to town. She is occupied for awhile and as an added bonus has coupons to play “store” with (seriously I have a problem). As she gets better, I may promote her to main coupon cutter, but only after she goes through some serious coupon cutting boot camp. I take my coupon cutting very seriously .

For more Works For Me Wednesday, check out Rocks in My Dryer.

 

11 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- I’m running with scissors”

  1. Those look great and what a great idea! I think it’s always a great idea to let kids practice at things they see their parents doing. It makes them feel so grown up!

  2. Kathy in WA Says:

    We’ve been using scissors like crazy these days as paper dolls make a big come – back. Thanks for sharing the tip.

    Duckabush Blog

  3. Sasha Says:

    That’s a great idea to help them get practice cutting. I’m going to try that with my kindergartner.

    Thanks!

  4. Hi, I use Maped’s Spring loaded scissors for my little one… it has a little switch you can toggle, to switch between spring loaded and not.

    here’s the link to the website for the product.

    http://www.toolsforkids.ca/scissors.htm

    I found it really useful, and it really helped my girl to learn how to use regular scissors! Hope that helps!

  5. GranMarty Says:

    Try Lakeshore Learning for the scissors.

  6. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Those are the coolest! I’ve never seen them; just bought my preschooler a pair of kiddie scissors and he’s in hog heaven!

  7. Laane Says:

    I have seen them at an ergonomics shop somewhere a while ago.
    It’s a shop with equipment for handicapped people.
    Elderly who don’t have much power in their hands use these too, it said.

    I hope you’ll find them.

  8. http://www.dickblick.com

    Funny website address, but it is actually from Blick art materials.
    Click on these links in order:
    Cutting Tools
    Scissors, Training
    Scissors, Trimmers, and Shears
    Special Needs

  9. Tracy Says:

    My littlest uses these in his special needs classroom. They are FABULOUS for someone who has trouble with fine motor skills. He can skip the frustration of learning to use scissors and get to the good part, which is learning to cut paper. He is cutting paper very very well now. Eventually he’ll transition to “real” scissors, but I may have to look for a pair of these for home use too!

  10. Amanda Says:

    I’ve been wondering how on earth to introduce scissors. Thanks for the great ideas!

  11. kerricodi Says:

    You know, my brother has autism and he used awesome scissors that I forgot about until now! Thanks for the reminder, I’ll ask my mom about them and let you know where they are!!!


Leave a Reply

