The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- Travel Bag September 18, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:10 pm

wfmwheader_163.jpg Sometimes you write a post and think,”Everyone will read this and say, ‘duh my dog could have figured that out.'” This very well could be one of these posts, but sadly this is a tip I have just recently begun using and it is saving me lots of headache. So in case you, like me, are a bit slow on the uptake, here is my oh so brilliant tip.

Buy a travel bag (that is not my tip, so stick around, it gets better). I prefer the kind that have a little hanger so I can hang them up in the shower or bathroom. Then stock it with things you only use for travel. Before I did this, every time I would go on a trip or to the gym or whatever, I would think through my morning routine and grab everything and pack it up. Now, I just throw the bag in my suitcase and go.

You have to make an initial investment of buying double of all of your toiletries, but since you probably won’t use them as much they will last you a long time. I even have bought and extra toothbrush, comb, razor, you name it. My other tip is to buy some generic bottles to put stuff in. That way you don’t have to use the brands that make things in travel sizes. I don’t know about you, but I think the people that put out travel sizes often times are the cheap low end brands and when I am traveling I still want to have good hair.

The hubby has taken this one step further and has a “gourmet” travel bag which has a corkscrew (for hotel libations), earplugs (for when your room is next to the pool), and allergy medicine (in case of a flare-up). You could even throw in a few other drugs (legal) to make a trip more pleasant- Dramamine, Ibuprofen, Kiddy Pain Reliever and Tylenol PM. Of course all of this must go in your checked luggage or you won’t make it past security and will spend your vacation stretched out on the airport floor.

If I help just one person with this post, then it will all be worth it. Just what that “all” is, I am not quite sure, but people are always saying that, and I think it definitely applies here. For more Works For Me Wednesday ideas, head on over to Rocks in My Dryer.

 

12 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- Travel Bag”

  1. Jodi Says:

    I used to travel in my other life and i would also pack, my eye pillow, and a candle for smelling up the room like home! thanks for the tips…will i ever travel again??? Jodi

  2. Dawn Says:

    This is a great idea. Whenever we go somewhere I always end up forgetting something, so this tip would help with that.

  3. Summer Says:

    Great idea!

  4. great tip! i apply this to diaper bag stuff as well. i keep doubles of everything (almost) in each car — especially during the summer — sunscreen, spare hats, cups and straws for when we want a water break, spare t-shirts, diapers, wipes, snacks, etc. it took a trip to target to stock up each car and now we are set…just have to replenish after outings if necessary. and i’m not scrounging around for the one bottle of sunscreen if we decide to “stop off” at the park…

  5. stacey Says:

    always a good reminder!

  6. Kathy in WA Says:

    Great tip! I have a toiletries bag that I keep partly stocked for just this same reason.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Duckabush Blog

  7. EmmyJMommy Says:

    Great tips!! Thanks for the ideas!

  8. tonsofsons Says:

    I do this too. It saves a lot of time and thinking!

    Great post!
    http://tonsofsons.wordpress.com/

  9. Laane Says:

    I have one too.
    Don’t forget to exchange toothpaste, pills and other stuff for fresh now and then.

    Have a great day!

  10. Toni Says:

    I’ve been thinking of doing this but wasn’t sure it would really be worth the effort. I can see from your post and your commentors that I’ve been silly to put it off.

  11. This is a great tip! I probably already have duplicates enough to fill an extra bag!

  12. I do the same thing and it is so worth your sanity!


Leave a Reply

