The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Fridays- Raincheck September 20, 2007

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:30 pm

frugalfridays.jpg Like my Wednesday post, this could fall under the “duh” category, but I recently just discovered this grocery tip and wanted to share it with you my readers.

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I recently begun using the Grocery Game to do my shopping. So imagine my dismay when I go to pick up and item that is on sale that I also have a coupon for and it is not there. If I am going to maximize my savings, I need to get the item this week before the sale is over. What’s a girl to do?

Ask for a rain-check. This allows you to get the item at the sale price at a later date. Then you can combine it with the coupon to maximize your savings. Be aware the sometimes sale items will not allow rain-checks so check the signs before you ask.

For more frugal ideas head over to Biblical Womanhood.

 

3 Responses to “Frugal Fridays- Raincheck”

  1. Char Says:

    Ya know though, as “Duh” as this sounds I really don’t think about doing it on food or grocery items that are on sale. I don’t think they reinforce the raincheck as much as they did years ago….I think it goes unsaid because the stores want your money not your savings. I will have to remember this though when I go grocery shopping next time 🙂

  2. mom2fur Says:

    I never thought about asking for a raincheck, either! I’ll have to keep that in mind. I’ve been doing the Grocery Game thing for several years now. Whoopee…I saved 42% the other day!!! (I average about 35%)

  3. Damselfly Says:

    I took the Grocery Game for a test drive but it didn’t work in my area. The deals were based on stores a four-hour drive away! Glad it works for you.


Leave a Reply

