The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Save the Tatas! September 29, 2007

Filed under: Random Life Moments — thediaperdiaries @ 8:54 pm

pink-ribbon.jpg I participated in the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure today. I walked in honor of my mom who is a breast cancer survivor (and faithful reader of my blog- hi mom!). While walking, I was really overwhelmed looking out at this huge crowd of people a majority of whom have been touched by this disease. Out of 7 of us walking together, 4 of our moms had had the disease. I also have an aunt who is a survivor (and faithful reader- hi aunt s.), a friend who is currently bravely fighting the disease and a friend who lost her battle after a long fight.

I love this walk because all the survivors are wearing pink shirts. I am amazed at this sea of women who have fought this disease and won. There were even a few women walking with scarves on their head who might even be battling it why they walk. Others who looked like they were my age or younger. Many people walking carrying signs and pictures of loved ones. It was just a very moving experience for me.

So since October is breast cancer month let’s do a small something to beat this disease. Click on the button below to help give mammograms to women in need. It takes 1 second and is such a simple thing, but it could save someones life.

                                        The Breast Cancer Site

Also head over to Toddler Planet and educate yourself on inflammatory breast cancer, a rare, often misdiagnosed form of breast cancer. If you feel so inclined, I would love you to leave a comment letting me know who in your life has been touched by this disease. Oh, and I really need to get me one of these.

 

5 Responses to “Save the Tatas!”

  1. Candace Says:

    That button is great! I could click on it all night. I have been so lucky and no one I know has been diagnosed. I commend you for walking- that is so awesome!

  2. Summer Says:

    I’m planning a post or two about breast cancer this next month. My grandmother (with whom I am rather close, we do genealogy together) is a survivor. It’s been over 9 years now. She’s currently struggling with a different type of cancer but the breast cancer hasn’t returned.

  3. Char Says:

    I lost one of the best Grandma’s in the entire world to breast cancer about 7 years ago. She fought til the very end, and tried to do it with dignity. My Aunt is currently battling it right now, as she found a lump earlier this spring.

  4. CoCo Says:

    I appreciate the walk you took and the honor you showed for me. (you honored my ta-tas!!!)Bless you and may your ta-tas never be affected.

  5. Chris Reeder Says:

    Be sure to check out this. If you use Microsoft Messenger, you can make money for the Susan G. Koman fund.


Leave a Reply

