The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Thing I Love- Pushing Daisies October 3, 2007

Filed under: Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:46 pm

pushing-daisies.jpg I had a whole other post written in my head until I watched that show tonight. I am hooked. Actually, I was hooked in the first 5 minutes. It had me at hello.

Every new TV year, I try and limit myself to 1 new show to become addicted to because I can’t handle much more. I won’t bore you with all the shows I TV, but it is a bit shocking. This season, I have been waiting for “Pushing Daisies.” It has a lot of hype behind it and just sounded radically different from anything else on TV.

I don’t know completely how to describe this show and do it justice. It is like a fairy tale for adults. At the risk of sounding cheesy, I just felt warm and fuzzy through the whole thing. The story is Ned has the power to bring people back from the dead by touching them. The catch is that if he touches them again, they die again. The show itself is rich with color, I can’t even imagine what it would look like on HDTV. If you’ve seen the movie “Big Fish” it is very similar to that in its look.

I know what you are thinking- “Great that you liked this, but it already premiered, I’m too late.” Do not fret, TV lovers. ABC is rebroadcasting the show on Friday at 8 pm, EST. Tivo, DVR, cancel your plans (if you have Friday night plans- congrats), but watch this show. I would love to hear what you think.

 

7 Responses to “Thing I Love- Pushing Daisies”

  1. georgiamom Says:

    It did look interesting, but I stayed away because of the whole “power over death” thing. I wasn’t sure how that would sit with me spiritually. But, if you like it, I’m going to take your recommendation and check it out. I’ll let you know.

  2. Georgia Mom Says:

    FYI – you can watch the full episode at ABC.com I’m in the middle of watching it right now. I love the way it was filmed, very Big Fishish. So, I’ll come back when I’m done and give a report.

  3. Georgia Mom Says:

    Okay, if you can get passed the whole “bringing people back to life thing”. I LOVE IT!!! How cute is this show! I’ve got to get hubby to watch it and see what he thinks. I like that they really don’t deal with the after life, it’s more of a murder mystery show. But, with a really great twist!! I won’t give too much away. Like I said, you can go to ABC.com and watch the full episode.

  4. Summer Says:

    I was hooked in the first five minutes too! Hubby and I figured we would like it since we LOVED Wonderfalls! If you haven’t seen Wonderfalls you ought to Netflix it. We were so sad it got cancelled. The main character in Pushing Daisies played Jay’s brother in Wonderfalls.
    I hope Pushing Daisies does better.

  5. canearl Says:

    I guess I’ll break my “no new shows” and check it out :). It looks really good. I’m with you on the how rich the colors are- I noticed that when I saw the commercials. It’s always nice to watch shows that are visually appealing as well as have a good story line. I also like that Kristin Chenowith (I’m sure I butchered her name) is in it too.

  6. anne Says:

    I’ve been wanting to watch this…I have several sewing hours coming up that my laptop will be providing the tv entertainment for…and this is on the list! 🙂

  7. Candace Says:

    I just watched it online- and you’re right (as always) it’s so good! Can’t wait for next week.


Leave a Reply

