The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- ABC Book October 9, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:44 pm

wfmwheader_162.jpg Here in the Diaper Diaries household we are big on reading. We try and read at least once a day with our kids. A lifelong love of reading is something we really want to instill in our children. I think one of the keys to that is get them started early.

As soon as Lily showed any interest in her ABC’s we started to talk about how each letter sounds. Then she started preschool and they do Zoophonics every day. Suddenly she was all about letters. So to encourage her, we made an ABC book together.

We started with a blank spiral bound notebook and put alphabet stickers on each page. Then, I took a bunch of old magazines and we began to cut out pictures that were of interest (bonus: opportunity to practice cutting). Together we tried to figure out what letter each picture started with. The key is too look for pictures that use the “true” sound of each letter, so a picture of a cat would work, a chair wouldn’t.

Then came every child’s favorite activity: we got out the glue. Seriously, what is it about glue? We glued each picture on the appropriate letter page. The result:   

abc-book.jpg

The best thing was, it was all Lily’s. I feel like it really helped us move to the next step in pre-reading skills.

That’s what works for me! For more Works for Me Wednesday ideas head over to Rocks in my Dryer.

The 1 Cor. 7:5 Challenge. Are you in?                     

 

29 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- ABC Book”

  1. phyllis Says:

    great idea. there’s a cool website that will let you make photo pages too… http://www.projectalphabet.com/index.php but i like yours because it gets the kids involved.

  2. It looks fun! I have a two year old who will be learning her letters soon and I can’t wait! I have never done anything more satisfying in my life than teaching my kids to read. I get butterlies in my stomach just thinking about it!

  3. Ellen Says:

    Fun! Good job mom!

  4. We have the exact same sort of book here! The kids love it. I do have one question though… Why are the Little Einsteins on the “S” page? 🙂

  5. thediaperdiaries Says:

    Spaceship. At the time we made that, we didn’t know who they were.

  6. I love this idea! My son will too. Thanks.

  7. Michelle Says:

    This is such a great idea! When my boys (now teenagers) were little, we did things like this. Now my current DH and I want to have a baby and I’d do this again for sure.

    God bless you!

  8. Kathy in WA Says:

    This is a great idea! Thanks for sharing. I love the way it makes the letters and phonics come alive.

    Duckabush Blog

  9. Georgia Mom Says:

    My kids are passed this stage, but it’s a cute idea and I’ll share it with my friends that have younger kids. And if you’re all about reading, go to http://www.starfall.com. It’s a great early reader website (my youngest daughter all but taught herself to read at 3, using this website. She’s 5 now and is reading great!). Have fun!

  10. Sasha Says:

    that is a cute idea!

  11. Great idea. we did something like this for my DS too but used Google images to print out pictures that were customized to his interests!

  12. Thia Says:

    This is a great idea. I tried doing it with my child, but alas, I have the only child in the world who DOESN’T like glue! Sigh.

  13. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Wow! That’s really cool! Thanks for the great idea 🙂

  14. Molly Says:

    What a great idea! I have made each of our children an ABC scrapbook with photos of family members, close friends and activities we have done as a family. It has been my goal to give it to each one on their 3rd b-day. They love them! (I have never been good at baby books, but LOVE to scrapbook!) I like your idea, because it gets the kids involved! I’m going to try it with our preschooler! Thanks!

  15. Candace Says:

    This is such a good idea!! My son is doing something like this at his pre-school, but it’d be great to have one at home too and it’s good to get my daughter started too. Thanks for sharing this!

  16. Summer Says:

    Great idea!

  17. twithhoney Says:

    I think this would be a great after dinner activity for Princess. She loves books and cutting and gluing.

  18. Alexandra Says:

    Super idea…we did the same here. We also used some really cute “letter people” cut outs at DLTK.com. I can’t wait to do this again with my daughter.

  19. adventuremom Says:

    What a great idea. I think I am going to try that this weekend!

  20. stacey Says:

    i love how you keep it simple! no fancy scrapbook stuff; although i LOVE fancy scrapbooks!

  21. Laane Says:

    That’s what I did, and I’m so glad.
    2 of my children are dyslectic and they have found means to compensate.
    Sometimes they see a word and think back to the ABCbook they made.

    Have a great week!

  22. lifeafterbaby Says:

    Yeah. So my first bottle of glue ended up all over my wood floor. The glue stick was thought to be chapstick. The scotch tape was turned into a spiderweb in the basement. My kids eat chalk, I think we can all guess what tragedies scissors or a stapler might be like in the hands of my three hooligans. I do love the idea. Maybe when they’re teenagers?

  23. This is a great idea, I’m going to do it with my son 🙂

    Rachel xxx

  24. What a GREAT idea! Joshua & I started HIS ABC book today! We had a great time working on it. He has been into letters for a long time, but this is really going to help us with his cutting skills and starting to read. Thanks for shairng Jill!

  25. Tricia Says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE that idea!

    I have been trying to think of away to reinforce what DD learns at Mothers Day Out. I’m going to do this.

    Tricia

  26. Martie Says:

    What a neat idea! Thank you for sharing. My 3-year-old just loves gluing, and Momma is just about tired of making foot after foot of paper chains. I think we will try a hand at this project! Thanks a bunch.

    Come see us at The Big Yellow House sometime!

    Martie

  27. Oh what a neat idea!! Will have to do that with my daughter.

    Blessings!

  28. deb Says:

    Teachers call this “environmental print”. Kids can read this first. Think about using McDonalds on the M page; Taco Bell on the T page etc. Only if you eat fast food of course. This is a great idea! I also included candy bars etc. As I typed, I realize we eat junk! LOL


Leave a Reply

