The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love Thursday- Squid Soap October 24, 2007

Filed under: Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:21 pm

squid-soap.jpg Ok, we have another product review this week. I was so excited when I was asked to give SquidSoap a try. I had seen it advertised in my parenting magazines and thought it looked like so much fun, but I had frankly never seen it in stores. The idea behind the soap is that it will teach your children how to properly wash their hands.

Let me digress a moment to state the obvious. I never realized until I was a parent how many things a child has to be taught how to do. I mean I get things like ride a bike, read a book, do long division. I just never imagined there would come a time where I would sit down and give a lengthy explanation of how to wipe oneself. And with girls, it gets really lengthy cause there are extra parts to wipe. I shudder to think of the conversation one must have with a little boy about what to do with his…I can’t even speak of it. That whole thing is confusing to me, I will leave that talk to the hubby.

So anyway, back to the soap. There is a proper way to wash your hands. To effectively kills germs you should be washing for 20 seconds with soap and water. I think I have been a lazy washer. 20 seconds is a lot longer than it sounds. So the brilliant people at Airborne designed a soap dispenser that leaves “ink” on your hand when you pump it. It is really a vegetable dye that takes 20 seconds to wash off.

Let me just say this was a big hit with Lily. She was suddenly washing her hands every 5 seconds and showing everyone who would listen her new soap. We have had it a few weeks and the novelty has worn off a bit, but she still loves to wash her hands with this soap. I must admit, I get a little excited when I use it too. Perhaps this is a sign I need to get out more. I choose to believe it is just because it is a really great product.

If you think your kids would love it to, here is a coupon so you can get some for your family. I think it would be great if everyone got some. Better yet public restrooms that had ink on the toilet flusher handle so you could tell if people were washing their hands. Airborne people, if you are reading this, that is your next brilliant invention. Then we would know not to shake hands with anyone running around with a red dot on their hands. How is it possible no one in corporate America has recruited me for product development?

Disclaimer: Baby still sick. Mommy still not sleeping. Not responsible for lack of coherence in posts.

 

4 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday- Squid Soap”

  1. What a cool idea! I hadn’t seen this yet. Thanks for the coupon link.

    ~Hope your little one gets better soon!
    🙂

  2. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Creative product! Thanks for the coupon link. I love your ideas on public restrooms–but until the technology catches up I’ll keep flushing with my foot!

  3. jubilee Says:

    Why couldn’t I have thought of this idea?! Thanks for the coupon linkage and all.

    From one sleep deprived mother to another: Hope Baby gets better and you get some sleep.

  4. kerry Says:

    I had never heard of this soap. I may have to check it out now. LOVE the concept of it.


Leave a Reply

