The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Friday- Beg, Borrow and Steal October 25, 2007

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:06 pm

frugalfridays.jpg Ok so not the beg and steal thing, but the borrow one is a good idea. I am speaking of maternity clothes. They are kind of pricey for things you wear for such a short period of time. Chances are, unless it’s your first kid, you are surrounded by other mothers. Hopefully some of them have good fashion sense. And a generous spirit.

Now, when I get maternity clothes, I take a pen and write my initials in the tags. That way when a fellow mommy who is my size announces a pregnancy, I offer up my clothes. When I am pregnant, I start asking around and people usually return the favor.

I think this works really well for things your kids need that aren’t worn that often too. For instance, if your child is trying out a sport that requires a lot of equipment purchases, ask around before shelling out a bunch of money. Same thing for special occasion dresses, a swim suit for a vacation during the winter, snow suits, a costume, etc.

I think it never hurts to ask. The worst you will hear is no. Then return the favor whenever you can. For more frugal wisdom, check out Biblical Womanhood.

 

5 Responses to “Frugal Friday- Beg, Borrow and Steal”

  1. stacey Says:

    I hope you will come over and receive your Friday Fuzzy! You deserve it! Oh, and we need to “talk”-we have a few things in common and I am excited to find out where you live!

  2. anne Says:

    I’m with you on these…and I don’t know what to do with the clothes that I have gotten that people haven’t put names in!!

    By the by…do you have any cute sweaters I could borrow? 🙂 It’s finally getting chilly and the belly is getting big!

  3. Fabbbbulous idea! I give Emily a buttload of my maternity clothes this go-round. Since I was still working during my pregnancies she got a lot of professional stuff from me that I will not need again but is of great use to her. Also – I got a TON of my maternity clothes at Once Upon a Child – not sure if everyone has that chain in their area, but it’s a kids/maternity resale store and you can get a great bang for your buck there!

  4. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Great advice! My sisters and I have been recycling the same maternity wardrobe around the country through 9 pregnancies over the past 7 years.

  5. Megan Says:

    Came here via Stacey!

    Love this idea. All of my girlfriends and recycle and reuse maternity clothes and it helps so much!


Leave a Reply

