The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

My Little Bubbala, I’m Kvelling November 5, 2007

Filed under: Quotes — thediaperdiaries @ 9:56 pm

jewish1.jpg Lily loves going to library. Usually she plays in the rather large play area and I pick out books for her that I think she would like. That’s why I was a little surprised when she came home with this:  

                                         5-little-gefiltes.jpg

I hoped to get a better picture, but what you are looking at is “5 Little Gefiltes.”  This is the book that came home when she went to the library with her Papa C.

Now, we are not Jewish. I used to work with a large Orthodox Jewish population when we lived in Chicago, but truth be told, we barely even know any Jewish people.  Not because we don’t want to, but where we live just doesn’t have a large Jewish population. I can say for certain I have never seen any Orthodox Jews around here speaking in Yiddish.

So imagine my surprise when my white-bread, evangelical Christian daughter told me yesterday, “Oy Vay, I’m kvetching!” In all seriousness, we are having quite a lot of fun learning some Yiddish around here. Maybe we’ll head to a kibbutz for the next family vacation.

 

4 Responses to “My Little Bubbala, I’m Kvelling”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    Ha! That is too cute. I can’t believe she said she is kvetching. That is adorable. Intrest in other cultures is a great thing, and she is definitely starting young enough. 😉
    I found your site over at NaBloPoMo on the stay at home mommy group. Nice to meet ya!

  2. That’s hilarious! I gotta get that book! I love Yiddish expressions. I bet they are great to hear out of the mouth of Lily!

  3. Courtney Says:

    See? She is naturally interested in diversity. I love it!!!

  4. anne Says:

    That is hysterical!!

    Oh, and if you really do head to a kibbutz…please take me with you.

    If you need a recommendation? I stayed at the best one ever RIGHT on the Sea of Galilee. Unbelievable!!


Leave a Reply

