The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works For Me Wednesday- Help for My Raccoons November 6, 2007

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 11:13 pm

wfmwheader_162.jpg  No wait, don’t go away. I don’t need help with actual raccoons. I need help to stop looking like one. I have dark under-eye circles that no cream or cover-up seem to help. So maybe you can help me.

I feel as though I always look tired. Come to think of it, I always am tired…maybe I just solved my own problem. No, I am pretty sure it isn’t just the tired thing. Although a little more sleep would be nice so if you would like to come over to my house every morning so I can sleep until 10, that would “Work for Me” also.

Anyway, do any of you suffer from the same problem? Have you found anything that truly works. A concealer/ eye cream combo or one or the other? I am anxious to hear your beauty wisdom. Come to think of it, if you don’t have a cure for my raccoon eyes, tell me whatever beauty product you can’t live without. Ooh, we will all be so pretty after this, I can hardly wait!!

 

23 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday- Help for My Raccoons”

  1. Mandy Houk Says:

    Okay, I am honestly not trying to sell my Mary Kay stuff. I promise. But MK has a few wondreful eye products that help tighten up and refresh the eye area. I have never been able to cover it up, but treating it with the MK magic stuff really works.

    The Eye Revitalizer is the best.

  2. Alicia Says:

    Dark circles under the eyes are often allergy-related. I would suggest a celiac test, allergy testing, and/or a food elimination diet. My mother used to have dark circles under her eyes until she tested positive for Celiac disease and went on a gluten free diet. Sometimes finding an underlying problem can be a bit of a hassle, but might be a permanent solution.

  3. No help here, but I’ll be checking back to see what advice you get as I have the same problem. Good luck!

  4. Kathy in WA Says:

    Good question. How is your sleep these days? Are you getting enough water? Fruits and veggies? Are you low on iron? I’m just rambling, I don’t really have any advice.

    A nap sounds good though. 🙂

    Duckabush Blog

  5. Georgia Mom Says:

    I’ve had chronic dark circles under my eyes since I was a teen. I get plenty of sleep and drink plenty of water. Then you see my sisters, my Mom and now my daughter and you can tell it’s just hereditary. I use MAC under eye concealor (sp). It works great! It goes on wet and then in a few minutes it dries into the skin and stays all day! But, you have to buy it a MAC counter and only a few stores sell MAC.

    http://www.maccosmetics.com/home.tmpl?ngextredir=1&cm_mmc=Range%20Search%20Term-_-May%2024,2006_Google-_-Cosmetics_MAC-_-mac&AD_ID=27909

    I love MAC!!

  6. Becky Says:

    There’s this great MK highlighter pen that I use. It illuminates any dark areas on your face, so I fool myself into feeling like a celebrity whose face shimmers in all the right places. It’s both fun and useful as a coverup for those dark under-eye circles!

  7. Kim Says:

    Try the Avon Anew Alternative eye cream. I also have the dark circles (hereditary) and have never found a great concealer but the Avon cream really helps. It does not completely erase the dark circles but does lighten it up enough that concealer works good enough! I think I may try the MAC concealer too!

  8. Jilly-o (I totally just made up that nickname for you), I have the same problem and I have to agree with the ladies that are recommending Mary Kay. My husband got me some (at my request I swear!) for my big 3-0 and the concealer is AMAZING and the firming eye cream, which I put on before bed, has really helped reduce my raccoon circles. Now I am sold on all the skincare and I am a total addict. So go getcha some! I am having an MK party on Nov 30th, why don’t you drive down from Grand Rapids? I think it’s like only 5 or 6 hours. 🙂

  9. SAHMmy Says Says:

    I’ve heard that dark circles indicate a Vitamin K deficiency–you could try taking a supplement for a few months. In the meantime I use a soft white eyeliner on the inside of my eyelids and rub some into the corners. It has just a teensy bit of shimmer and seems to help brighten everything up. I got it at Sally’s Beauty Supply for about $2.

  10. Marie Says:

    Have you tried teabags on your eyes? Use regular lipton ones, make sure they’re good and wet (and cool / cold), and lay down with them on your eyes for a few minutes. The caffeine, antioxidants, and the coolness combined work wonders.

  11. I get those lovely eyes when my allergies act up. Is it an allergy issue?

  12. Courtney Says:

    Hey Missy, a co-worker swears by Kiehl’s eye cream. She does not have dark circles at all and she says it is because of the cream. Personally, I am going to stop using the MK eye cream (I’ve noticed that around my eyes my skin has been rather dry) and try some good old-fashioned Oil of Olay. Or maybe I will get some Kiehl’s myself!

    Miss ya!
    :-0

  13. Have you tried any of the concealers for dark circles, I think they are tinted yellow.

  14. lifeafterbaby Says:

    You just need to quit the bottle, ya boozehound! Just kidding. No advice here, either–I have other problems of my own like zits–how junior high is that?

  15. Amy Says:

    Dermablend is the stuff that people with port wine birthmarks and other major cosmetic issues use to cover them up. It’s supposed to be able to cover anything. It used to be available at Ayres, but now that they’re Macy’s, I’m not sure.

    http://www.dermablend.com/ – hooray for the internet!

  16. yestheyareallmine Says:

    When my allergies are really going I will have dark circles under my eyes. Taking a Clariten or Benedryl before going to bed helps.

  17. Jenni Says:

    I use Mary Kay facial highlighting pen (shade 1 so no yellow undertone) under my eyes for my nasty circles, and a very light, slightly shimmery shade of eyeshadow for the droopy lids. Makes me look MUCH more awake. I stay away from yellowy colored makeup to help avoid the sallow look.

  18. jubilee Says:

    I use the concealer from Sheer Cover and it does the trick for me.

  19. Nap Warden Says:

    I have wicked dark circles…always have. My makeup artist for my wedding turned me onto Giorgio Armani’s under eye concealer, it works really well. I also use a white pencil on the inner and outer eye, it seems to wake me up a little!

  20. i love, love, LOVE my concealer. L’oreal Visible Eye Lift in fair (not light). It’s way better than other more expensive stuff I’ve tried!

  21. Yeah, raccoon here too. Thanks for all the advice everyone!

  22. erincraig Says:

    My mom always told my brothers that they needed to eat some oatmeal. I have no idea why but it seemed to work for their dark cicles.

  23. Cheryl Says:

    Hi,
    I just resently had to go to the Dr. due to what I thought was Blepheritis, an eye lid condition brought on by chronic dry eyes. My eyelids were swollen a bit and the lower lids were turing away from my eye with lots of crusty dryness and a bit of discharge in the corners of my eyes. I went to my eye Dr. and she said I was haveing an allergic reaction! I didn’t have Blepheritis at all. Long story short, I had purchased some Loreal Eye Cream which was a bit expensive, and rubbed it on day and night to help with my dry eye condition . Not in the eyes but around the eyes. I seemed to get worse so I applied more and more on until I began to look like I was aging fast! I couldn’t even open my eyes long which brought me to the Dr. At least I found out what I was allergic to. I have never been allergic to anything so this surprised me! Be careful with eye creams! They are loaded with chemicals and can cause this sensitive a violent reaction!


Leave a Reply

