The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

November Pay It Forward Book Exchange November 7, 2007

Filed under: Books,Contest — thediaperdiaries @ 10:02 pm

payitforward.jpg It’s that time again over at Overwhelmed With Joy! and once again I am participating. This month, I am giving away a book I just finished reading for my book club. I think everyone in my book club really enjoyed the book and hopefully you will too. Actually, I think Overwhelmed With Joy! just gave it away last month so I am just going to rip off her description.

With its spotlight on elephants, Gruen’s romantic page-turner hinges on the human-animal bonds that drove her debut and its sequel (Riding Lessons and Flying Changes)—but without the mass appeal that horses hold. The novel, told in flashback by nonagenarian Jacob Jankowski, recounts the wild and wonderful period he spent with the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth, a traveling circus he joined during the Great Depression. When 23-year-old Jankowski learns that his parents have been killed in a car crash, leaving him penniless, he drops out of Cornell veterinary school and parlays his expertise with animals into a job with the circus, where he cares for a menagerie of exotic creatures[…] He also falls in love with Marlena, one of the show’s star performers—a romance complicated by Marlena’s husband, the unbalanced, sadistic circus boss who beats both his wife and the animals Jankowski cares for. Despite her often clichéd prose and the predictability of the story’s ending, Gruen skillfully humanizes the midgets, drunks, rubes and freaks who populate her book.

So, here is the deal. If you want to win, leave a comment. I’ll give you all month to win (you know I will forget about this, someone remind me). If you win, I ask that you would participate in a future Pay It Forward Book Exchange and pass the book on to another person who might enjoy it. Also, please head over Overwhelmed With Joy’s website and check out all the other books to be won.

 

11 Responses to “November Pay It Forward Book Exchange”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    Please enter me!

  2. Overwhelmed! Says:

    Since I’ve already read this book, I’m not going to ask to be entered in your drawing, but thanks for participating in my November Pay It Forward Book Exchange by hosting your own giveaway. I’ve got you linked in my post.

  3. Ames Says:

    Sounds like an interesting read, I’d love to give it a go!

  4. jubilee Says:

    I’ve heard about this book before . . . sounds like an interesting read. Count me in!

  5. Kathie Says:

    Please enter me for this book. Blessings from a missionary family in Costa Rica

  6. Count me in, this one has been on my wishlist for a while. Thanks!

  7. Angela Says:

    Oh wow.. I defently would love to have this book!

  8. Lisa Says:

    I would love to be entered into this drawing 🙂 Thanks!

  9. Have you chosen your winner yet? 🙂


Leave a Reply

