The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love Thursday- Hearts At Home November 7, 2007

Filed under: Family,Motherhood,Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 11:06 pm

heartsathome.jpg  If you are in fact a stay at home mom, remember back a moment to when you were a career women. I used to have letters behind my name, I belonged to a professional organization, I went to continuing education conferences, I GOT A PAYCHECK!!! Well, outside of the last one (sorry, no one is going to pay you to change diapers) wouldn’t it be nice if all of the other things existed for stay at home moms? Well, it does!!

Hearts at Home exists to encourage and educate mothers at home. We want moms to understand their God-given value and the important role they play in society. We also want to give them a much-deserved pat on the back. Most of all, we want moms to think of being home as a career choice. Our desire is to professionalize mothering!

I first encountered Hearts At Home when I went to their national conference. It was my first weekend ever away from my daughter and I was so freaked out. It was amazing! I came home so encouraged and inspired and more convinced then ever that all the sacrifices and work that come with staying at home are more than worth it. I have since gone 2 more times and look forward to it every year. They have amazing speakers and workshops full of ideas to make you a better mom, wife and person.

They also have a lot great resources including a website, magazine and books. The book Becoming a Chief Home Officer really made me look at staying at home as a career change rather than giving up my career. Plus I get to put letters behind my name again! I am hoping to read Professionalizing Motherhood soon. Obviously, Is There Really Sex After Kids? has been inspiring.

I don’t want to overstate it, but this organization is so wonderful. Head over to their website and check them out. Maybe we can all meet up at a conference next year. They host one in my hometown and we could have a GIANT slumber party. I am sure my hubby wouldn’t mind at all.

 

2 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday- Hearts At Home”

  1. mytotalchaos Says:

    I love that website and I just subscribed to their magazine. I have a friend who went to a conference last year and she said it was amazing. I was disappointed in myself that I had forgotton to check out their website again and missed this year’s conference. I am totally making plans for next years conference though! Thanks for helping me remember about this wonderful resource.

  2. SAHMmy Says Says:

    This is right up my alley! Thanks for the link!


Leave a Reply

