The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works for Me Wednesday- A Better Way to hang Christmas tree lights November 27, 2007

Filed under: Holidays,Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:43 pm

worksformewednesday.jpg As I mentioned yesterday, I firmly believe every one of you should have your tree up and decorated by now. Thanksgiving weekend is for nothing else than Christmas decorating (well and gorging, sleeping, eating, and napping). So I assume that you have already decorated your tree, but if you are delinquent in your decorating then I have a tip that will save you a lot of hassle when you take down your tree (which should be done New Year’s Day by the way… I don’t make the rules people, but these are written in stone).

Anyway, I learned this from my husband shortly after we got married. Also shortly after a heated discussion as to whether our tree would be real or artificial (I will not keep you in suspense, he won- real). I let him win one early in our marriage in order that I could win everything from there on out. Cause that is the kind of sacrificial Proverbs 31 wife that I am.

Anyway (again), when putting lights up on the tree instead of spiraling them around the entire tree in a circular fashion, instead loop them from side to side in kind of an S shaped pattern around the parts of the tree that are visible. Not only do you not waste yards of lights on parts that face the wall, but when you are done you just pull them straight off the front.

Oh no, I didn’t just marry him for his good looks. He is brilliant with a Christmas tree too. And really what more can you ask for in a man.

For more Works for Me Wednesday ideas, head over to Rocks in My Dryer.

 

20 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday- A Better Way to hang Christmas tree lights”

  1. Lady Why Says:

    OK, that’s just good! Too bad we’ve already done ours (I agree wholeheartedly with the Thanksgiving weekend thing!) in the inefficient circular manner. But, I will remember this for next year!

  2. Sara Says:

    I don’t get to have a Christmas tree (always real, by the way) this year because we’re going out of town for the ENTIRE week before Christmas (and I don’t have kiddos yet), but I will definitely remember this tip for next year!

  3. Jynell Says:

    I do the S loop too, but if you MUST have your decorations up on Thanksgiving weekend, then you also know that you MUST wrap the tree trunk to get depth in your sparkle! 😀 I normally just throw that strand away with the tree honestly… does your wise hubby have any better suggestions for getting those off? 😀

  4. M Says:

    The first time we put up our tree as a married couple my husband took one strand of lights and wrapped it around and said, “Ok we are done”. Needless to say, I do the lights on the tree. I wrap in a circular pattern and even around each branch so the lights are both on the inside and out. My husband just shakes his head. I think I have about 10-12 strands of lights on the tree this year. We still both laugh at his attempt with one strand. Men! Now that I think about it, he probably did it on purpose to get out of doing the job. Again, I say, “Men”! Good idea though, can I still wrap around each branch using the “s” format?

  5. jennifer Says:

    I hate putting on and taking off the lights. Thanks for the tip, I need all the help I can get.

  6. Good tip for the lights! We figured this out about 2 years ago, and couldn’t believe we were wrapping the lights all those years!

  7. tonsofsons Says:

    We are putting ours up today. And I take mine down the day after Christmas. Great idea ~ Bravo to dh!

    http://tonsofsons.wordpress.com/

  8. 4urpets Says:

    Well, I hate to spoil the tip, but my tree is a pre-lit artificial tree. Bah Humbug!

  9. Amy Says:

    Great idea! I haven’t put up our tree yet. Mainly because I still wanted to, you know, LIKE it by the time Christmas finally rolls around. Don’t get me wrong… I love Christmas and all, but small living room + 2 small kids + 1 large TREE in the house can get kind of crowded. 🙂 The less time the better. 😉
    Thanks for the great idea, though… sounds like it will make un-decorating a lot quicker & easier!

  10. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Smart man you’ve got there! We finally invested in a prelit fake tree this year–I didn’t have to wait all weekend for my sweetheart to wake up from his turkey coma to string the lights!

  11. Laane Says:

    Great husband!!

    We don’t put up our tree until after Sinterklaas, that’s 6 december.

    Feel welcome to visit my site

    Laane on the World

    Have a great day!

  12. writmm Says:

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Catherine Says:

    That’s a great idea – we have not done ours – we’re getting it this weekend fresh from the field in upstate New York.

  14. Dayna Says:

    Great idea! Since I dread lighting the tree, I’ll have to try your trick. Also, no tree up yet since my son is having a sleepover this weekend. A tree with a house full of 7-year-old boys is asking for trouble.

  15. jenuinejen Says:

    Great idea! My husband hates to hang the lights so it is always left up to me to do.

  16. Paige Says:

    Just got the tree up last night, so in your book, I’m dreadfully late. We’ve had some things going on here that prevented a post Thanksgiving tree trimming, but it’s finally done, and we are happy!

  17. Cherie Says:

    Great tip! Wish I had read this about 8 days sooner!

  18. Teresa Says:

    Well it is Dec 15th and we are putting the lights on tonight. You might think we are late, …but then we don’t take the tree down till Jan 6th, called Little Christmas. This is the night the WIse Men arrive with their gifts and in some countries is the day gifts are given.

    I will try your way this year and let you know (but will go all around the tree). Usually I wrap UP and DOWN like a wave starting at the bottom UP to the top then down…but I go all around the tree since our tree is in the window.

    As a child our tradition was not to put the tree up till Dec 24, so I sorta don’t feel too late. …I would die if it were up 5 weeks!

    Merry Christmas to you. Thank you for the suggestion.


Leave a Reply

