The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love Thursday- Reynolds Handi-Vac November 28, 2007

Filed under: Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:46 pm

handi-vac.jpg Tis the season of too much food! What do you do when you have 17 pounds of cookies and jeans that are already a bit too tight? Freeze them!

Well, freezing food often leads to weird tastes and colors that I am not a big fan of. But alas a vacuum sealer can cost up to $300. Not anymore my friends. Reynolds has come up with a vacuum sealer for around $10.

How good of quality can it be for only $10? Well, I was recently given one to try and was really impressed with the results. It’s super easy to use and does what it is supposed to do. And not only does it keep your food protected, it saves you a lot of freezer space as it keeps your food compact. I like it because I can buy meat in bulk and freeze it in smaller portions so I can thaw just what I need. I haven’t found any downsides yet.

You can find these at most grocery stores and mass retailers. I would encourage you to give it a try if you freeze a lot. I would actually encourage you either way. I think it is an affordable buy, takes up little room and is easy to use. Plus it is an excuse to make tons of cookies, freeze them, and nibble them all year long. Don’t you think that is better than gorging yourself during the month of December? Don’t you? (help me out here people)

 

7 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday- Reynolds Handi-Vac”

  1. bigbinder Says:

    Oh, I guess I shouldn’t have read this post because now I know what you are getting me for Christmas. I love it! It is perfect. I want one… c’mon, gimme! Please? Pretty please?

  2. lifeafterbaby Says:

    Jill–instead of spending $10, you can give your friend bigbinder a $3 box of Ziplock (or store brand) bags and a straw so she can make her own vacuum sealed freezer bags. Aren’t I so totally cheeky sometimes?

  3. Char Says:

    Dang you and your knowlege of cool products for cheap! Now I am going to have to be on the look out for one to help me out with my freezer.

  4. Heather H Says:

    right on with the cookie-eating-extravaganza. freeze those puppies and have treats all year long!

    it was fun seeing you last night – your daughters are ADORABLE! sorry you got sucked into the ‘free tram ride.’ we failed to mention it to the kiddos we were with…what they didn’t know didn’t hurt us.

  5. Erin Says:

    I’m glad to know it really does work well. We do a lot of bulk meat buying and double cooking around here. And with a fridge from the seventies, there isn’t a lot of free real estate in the freezer. Thanks!

  6. themommykelly Says:

    Very cool… I had been wondering about those things… now I know! That’s on my list.

  7. Kathie Says:

    I bought one of the big ones last Christmas and my brother talked me into trying the handi-vac instead. I took the big one back and kept the handi-vac. It goes on top the frig so it doesn’t take up counter space. I use it for everything. If there are only 4 pieces of lasagna left, it goes in 2 “sucky bags”. We have a couple kids in college and when they come home, they grab what they want. We also send to my elderly mother-in-law and she loves them. I disagree with them not holding the seal. Sometimes, stuff sits in the freezer for a month or 2 and no air and no freezer burn. I love mine. I’ve been having a problem finding the quart size bags though and was afraid they were discontinuing the product.


Leave a Reply

