The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love Thursday- Sonicare Toothbrush December 5, 2007

Filed under: Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 11:47 pm

sonicare1.jpg So I will be completely honest here and confess that I don’t have the most stellar dental hygiene. I brush every morning, but the nighttime thing often gets neglected. I can’t remember the last time I flossed, and I don’t go to the dentist as often as I should. Part of the problem is I was blessed with great teeth. Straight, white, no cavities (I know, don’t hate me). I think it drives the poor hubby nuts, who is a brushing fool, and still manages to stare down a drill everytime he heads to the dentist.

So my hubby during one of his frequent dental appointments was advised to get a Sonicare toothbrush. They are rather pricey, but he asked for it last Christmas and has been singing its praises ever since. He has offered me my own toothbrush head so I can get in on the goodness, but we don’t share a bathroom (Hallelujah for separate bathrooms!! Can I get an amen?) and it just seemed like a hassle. Plus, I really didn’t understand getting that excited about a toothbrush. It’s not like it’s shoes.

So recently when I was given the chance to check out the new Sonicare Flexcare toothbrush for review, I thought why not? I now see what all the fuss is about. This thing is like the Mercedes of toothbrushes. It has 3 different modes that clean and massage. It also has 2 timed routines. One is a quick 1 minute and a 3 minute routine that combines cleaning and gum massage.

Apparently, we are supposed to be regularly brushing for 3 minutes. Do you know how long it takes to brush your teeth for 3 minutes. Ok, so the obvious answer is…3 minutes, but that is a really long time. But it shuts off automatically when you’re done so you feel like you got to keep going until it shuts off. I am finding this to be oddly challenging.

It has all sorts of other features, but the one I find the most intriguing is the UV sanitizer. Apparently there are all sorts of nasty and freakish germs living on your toothbrush head. I am thinking this kind of defeats the purpose of brushing your teeth. So this toothbrush has this compartment that comes with it that zaps your toothbrush with UV rays to kill 99% of those germs. Sure you could hold out for the model that kills 100%, but I think your mouth would prefer you start sanitizing now.

Let me be completely upfront- this is not a cheap toothbrush. You must look at is an investment. This baby will last a long time and you just replace the toothbrush head. Which apparently you should be doing often anyway cause of all the nasty germs taking up residence there. Or ask Santa for one for Christmas. Cause isn’t oral hygiene at the top of everyone’s wish list?

 

5 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday- Sonicare Toothbrush”

  1. Awesome Mom Says:

    We have a Sonicare too and I love it. My teeth have never been cleaner.

  2. Okay, please put me in touch with the person that gave you a new Sonicare Flexcare toothbrush to try because I REALLY want to try it out and post a review on my blog too! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I’ve got some free books up for grabs as part of my December Pay It Forward Book Exchange. Stop by if you’re interested in a chance to win. 🙂

  3. SAHMmy Says Says:

    I’m fascinated by the UV feature! I change our toothbrushes about twice a month because the thought of the germs on them freaks me out. I could probably justify the cost of the Sonicare within a year if I didn’t spend $12 a month on “disposables!”

  4. Marie Says:

    My parents have separate bathrooms too. I’m helping them find a new place as they get ready to move here, and it was hilarious when my mom said, “the most important thing is that we must have two bathrooms. One bathroom is unacceptable.”

    I would LOVE to have my own bathroom!

  5. CoCo Says:

    I want one–Christmas, Mother’s Day whatever!!


Leave a Reply

