The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Queen of her domain January 12, 2008

Filed under: Quotes — thediaperdiaries @ 9:37 pm

queen.jpg Lily has become quite the Huckabee fan. We do not believe in political brainwashing (well, maybe a little), but she has heard us talking about him and has decided she is onboard for Huckabee in ’08. Today the hubby and I went to a rally and she begged to go with. She clapped and cheered and held her sign high. Her face lit up when he got up to play bass with the band (cause he is a rock star too).

I loved the conversation that took place on the way home. We were trying to explain the importance of voting and how a president is elected. Lily said that only boys could be president. I got on my soapbox and started to preach that girls can be anything they want even president (just not some girls/women-ahem). Lily said girls aren’t presidents, they are queens. And when she grows up, she wants to be queen of the city. And wear a crown. I agree, that beats president anyday.

I thought you would also enjoy a view of her nightstand which she insisted on decorating herself today. Oh, she makes her daddy proud. And I think it represents her two latest political ambitions perfectly.

img_4664.jpg

 

5 Responses to “Queen of her domain”

  1. Courtney Says:

    There is something about the combination of a Huckabee sign, a castle, and Hello Kitty stickers that makes this a fantastic picture. 🙂

  2. Cindy Says:

    You’ll be so glad you took that photo and blogged about it! Of COURSE boys should be presidents and girls should be queens! I LOVE it!

  3. Heather Says:

    I laughed at the Huckabee sign – and the whole story for that matter. I think you need to take her to a Clinton rally, just to be fair.

  4. Nicole Says:

    That picture is fantastic – amazing what they pick up on & latch onto isn’t it?

  5. bigbinder Says:

    I think my parents were like this with me, because I missed being able to vote when I turned 18 by like 4 days and it was a presidential election and I was a wreck. I worked on campaigns from the time I was in elementary school. Lilly will be stuffing envelopes and canvassing in no time. The queen thing, well, maybe she could move to England and work her way into that crowd.


Leave a Reply

