The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Week 15- A Change in Scenery January 18, 2008

Filed under: The Challenge — thediaperdiaries @ 11:52 pm

sex-challenge.gif So remember that scene in When Harry Met Sally…no not that scene, I have already told you ladies, we are not to be “faking it”. This scene:

Sally Albright: And Joe and I used to talk about it, and we’d say we were so lucky we have this wonderful relationship, we can have sex on the kitchen floor and not worry about the kids walking in. We can fly off to Rome on a moment’s notice…… And I went home, and I said, “The thing is, Joe, we never do fly off to Rome on a moment’s notice.”
Harry Burns: And the kitchen floor?
Sally Albright: Not once. It’s this very cold, hard Mexican ceramic tile.

Ours is hardwood, so maybe it wouldn’t be so bad. Either way, it got me thinkin’, what if we did something outrageous and crazy and had sex in a different room? Post kids and 7 years into marriage, it is amazing what is considered outrageous and crazy.

So your challenge this week is to find an “un-christened” corner of your house and “christen” it. If you want to be lame, pick the guest room. If you want to be adventurous, the kitchen floor (although I have to agree with Meg Ryan on this one, that does not sound appealing). Just pick a room, any room and mix it up a bit. If you want to be REALLY adventurous, don’t stop picking until you have “christened” the whole house. That is like a level 5 challenge. Participate at your own risk. Also, don’t let me know if you are participating on that level cause I will be really weirded out the next time I am at your house.

 

15 Responses to “Week 15- A Change in Scenery”

  1. jubilee Says:

    My husband and I have moved many times in our 10 year marriage. When we move in, one of the first things he does (with a dopey grin on his face and eyebrows rising and falling a la Groucho Marks) is he asks me : “Sooooo, which room first?”

  2. jubilee Says:

    Oops! Was that too much information?

  3. Char Says:

    I think the kitchen floor is just gross. Do you know how many things get dropped on that floor? Far too many for my taste.

  4. CoCo Says:

    Might be a good reason to “spiff up” that new area ahead of time–in anticipation. Yes, even the kitchen floor!

  5. Jackie Says:

    Remind me to never sit on your furniture again.

  6. I cannot imagine just having sex with my hubby is just one room… How dull is that… I mean you have an entire house, plus there is the car, the deck, the trampoline, etc…. I mean, be imaginative and daring and HAVE FUN! Whoohooo! (Happily married for going on 24 years ☺)

  7. Oh, I received the book I won. Thank you!! Hugs!

  8. Olivia Says:

    What about christening someone elses house?

  9. Jenn Says:

    That’s an interesting challenge! We just moved……
    Anyhow, I did e-mail you about winning my book giveawa. Did you get it? Send me your address so I can ship it off to you.

  10. Nicole Says:

    I’m really enjoying all these challenges and this is a good one! I think it is so fantastic that you are addressing this in such a fun, respectful, biblical way. Good for you. My hubby & I are really challenging ourselves this year in this area. So far, so good!

  11. SAHMmy Says Says:

    I’m with CoCo–one more benefit of keeping a clean house 😉

  12. kerry Says:

    Hmmm. I’m usually so tired that the bedroom it is. This will be a nice change for my hubs.

  13. Amanda Says:

    Okay this may be way too much TMI, but we got a new kitchen table. And the night we got it we ended up having sex on it. My husband went to work and told his boss. Well, I had his boss & his boss’s wife over for dinner and afterwards my husband led me on to the fact that his boss knew about it and that’s why he moved his plate from where I put it. I’m still embarrassed!

  14. Barb Says:

    Sex in non-bed places is so fun! I love having a little secret with my hubby! It makes me feel like a kid sneaking around, except it’s totally legit because we’re married and it’s OUR house! (Mostly…)

  15. Jennifer Says:

    I’m new to the challenge and have been catching up. I love this post and the comments were cracking me up! I want to buy a trampoline now!! This is one area that my hubby and I don’t have trouble in. Our baby’s crib is in our room until he’s old enough to move into big brother’s bunk bed, so we have to be VERY creative where we get intimate at!


Leave a Reply

