The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Me Time January 28, 2008

Filed under: Motherhood — thediaperdiaries @ 10:09 pm

pedicure.jpg  So I hate feet. I think I have mentioned it before, but it bears repeating. I am not a fan of feet. This bothers my husband who firmly believes I should love every inch of him. I love all the important parts so who really cares about the feet. Sometimes his feet will accidentally cross over onto my side of the bed and graze mine and I jump 2 feet off the bed. And cold feet…that is the epitome of torture. Seriously if you ever want to break me, just stick some feet in my face and I will squeal like a stuffed pig.

I don’t know where this comes from. I love my kiddie’s feet, but I know there is a threshold for that. Right now they are little and cute. Soon they will be big and sweaty. Maybe I have some repressed foot moment that has scarred me for life. Maybe I should seek some therapy. Lately though I have been comforted by reading in other’s blogs that they have some sort of foot phobia too. Is podophobia a treatable condition?

Actually, I can’t have true podophobia, cause that would include a dislike of people touching my feet. I can think of few things I enjoy more. My favorite part of a full body massage is the feet and I love to indulge in a good pedicure. It’s one of my favorite ways to relax when I get a moment away from the kiddos. I have even found a pedicure place that will let you bring some wine and food. Is that the ultimate? Sitting in a massage chair with your feet in a warm bath sipping on some wine and eating some chocolate. That’s my definition of some “Me Time.”

Wanna write about your definition? Head over to MamaBlogga to join in.

 

11 Responses to “Me Time”

  1. Char Says:

    We have a rule in our bed about cold feet. I don’t touch you with mine, so you don’t touch me with yours!

  2. Mama Zen Says:

    This sounds a little weird, I know, but my husband has unbelievably soft feet!

  3. Found you through the give-away, but non US so can’t enter 😦 Great blog though. Feet – ughhhh1 Can’t cope with anyone touching my feet, so a foot message would be torture. And my dh’s feet – he has some WEBBED toes – like the Man From Atlantis, but fortunately for him I love the rest of him, and just avoid looking at his toes! Have a lovely day reading other peoples’ blogs.

  4. Irene Says:

    This is funny, because I used to really REALLY hate feet. They really grossed me out. I would be grossed out when people would even talk about their feet because then I would start picturing their feet and I couldn’t stand it. I would be repulsed.

    But for some reason, I don’t mind them at all anymore. Even gross feet, while still gross, aren’t as completely, overwhelmingly repulsive as they used to be. Strange.

    It may be because my husband actually has the nicest feet! I often tell him he should be a foot model. They never seem icky or smelly and are always perfectly clipped and cleaned. He has his dad’s feet, and his dad, in his mid 60’s still has really nice looking feet!

    I don’t know, I actually have grown to like feet now!

  5. Jackie Says:

    The latest book club detailing foot binding must have put you off your rocker!!

  6. CoCo Says:

    Now as your mom, I feel so “defeated” Was it something I did??

  7. Heather Says:

    Pedicure, huh? I don’t think I’ve ever actually had one of those. My friends from school and I were planning to get them done during an alumni conference (in NYC), but the dang embassy was meeting that day and all of manhattan was shut down. I’m all about politics until it gets in the way of my girl time (and pedicure time). I’m still trying to decide when a good time would be to treat myself to one of these…

  8. RachelD Says:

    I laughed when I read this post. I feel the exact same way. My dh gets upset because I can’t stand his feet. He has cold finger toes that totally gross me out. 🙂

  9. Sigh. I’m always on the other end of this one—I have like the coldest feet in the world and my husband is very sensitive to cold. Can’t speak for pedicures; I’ve only had one (for my wedding). But just the other day I was looking at my own feet and decided it was a good thing DH doesn’t have a foot fetish 😉 !

    Thanks for participating once again!

  10. beartwinsmom Says:

    LOL on the cold feet. My DH swears that I put my feet in ice water before I get into bed. But, I’d love to find that spa that gives you chocolate while you have a pedicure. That sounds like heaven to me!

    Great entry for Mama Blogga’s GWP! 🙂

    Regards, Michelle aka The Beartwinsmom

  11. Julie Says:

    I hate sandals and pedicures because I dislike feet so. I admit mine are ice cold in July though. What a fun post, and your definition for me time sounds perfect—I’ll just skip the pedi and go for the chocolate!


Leave a Reply

