The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Fridays- CVSing January 31, 2008

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:29 pm

frugalfridays.jpg  Ok, if you are coming over from Crystal’s blog, I am preachin’ to the choir. You most likely have been CVSing your little heiny off and don’t need my advice, a mere CVS rookie. However, if you are one of my regular readers, let me share my new hobby.

I have always loved shopping, more specifically finding a great bargain. In the past few months I have taken this to a new, spectacular level. A while ago, I blogged about my recent discovery of a helpful website, The Grocery Game. If you aren’t familiar with it, I highly suggest you check it out. Anyway, with the help of this website, I have been combining weekly store sales with coupons to maximize my savings. I have been really excited with my savings at the grocery store.

So last week, I added CVS to my Grocery Game subscription. I have an always had an affinity for CVS. I love the colors, the layout, the cleanliness. I also love that they supplied a big hunk of Lily’s college fund when she landed on their diapers. I have never before (and probably never will again) shown a picture of my kids on my blog, but if you want to see Lily at 7 months, here you go.

Anyway, I love how much I can save there. Now, I am not a pro. There are women who dedicate their days and nights to this and have made it an artform. Yes, Jenny I am talkin’ bout you. Plus in my efforts to declutter, I try not to buy stuff I don’t need or won’t use. However, I am having fun watching my savings rack up. Today I spent $34. I got over $80 worth of stuff. The best part is I got $17 worth of extra care bucks to spend like cash the next time I shop. So that pretty much means I spent $17.

There are lots of websites to help you make sense of the circulars and coupons. I basically combine what I get from The Grocery Game with the tips at Money Saving Mom. There are tons more out there, but I can’t possibly spend more time on the web than I already do. Well, I could, but I think my husband and children would like me to occasionally come around. Happy CVSing!

For more frugal ideas, head over to Biblical Womanhood.

 

8 Responses to “Frugal Fridays- CVSing”

  1. My wife knows that when I come home from CVS with 5 tubes of toothpaste and multiples of a few other items, they were free or the store paid me to cart them off. If I won’t use use it soon, it goes to charity, or gets passed along to a friend. Since they started the ‘extra care’ deals, it’s the first Sunday paper ad I look at. I know I’m not the only one, by Tuesday many of those good deals have left empty shelfs.
    JOE

  2. Candi Says:

    I would love to be better organized at shopping for better deals so I am going to check this site out. Thanks!!

  3. rightingrandrapids Says:

    I’m sure CVS loves that you promoted Pampers just before mentioning that Lily was hired to promote theirs!

  4. CC Says:

    Yesterday I spent $10 at CVS and paid $4; then at Walgreens I spent $54, and at the bottom of my receipt it says that I saved $22 ($7 in coupons and $15 from advertised sale prices). I wish that Walgreens would come out with a plastic store savings card like CVS has, just so you don’t have to rip out all those Walgreens coupons from the store’s flyer. My 2-year old was wondering what I was doing and why lol. A card would be much easier!

  5. Yeah! I am so with you on the recent drugstore obesessions. I love Extra Care Bucks and got $10 yesterday. I already have my purchases for next week planned out. Could I be a bigger dork? Only time will tell. By the way, I am sending thousands of readers over today for a Frugal Friday tip, so just get ready… 🙂

  6. mom2fur Says:

    I love the Grocery Game, and have been doing it for about 3 years now. And I love CVS-ing! It’s so much fun looking for those coupons at the end of my receipt!

  7. Welcome to the Team CVS! oot oot! Dang girl I wish we lived closer so on your non-challenge nights, we could hit the 24 hr CVS after the kids go to bed….
    By the way, Lily is NOT on the size 4 diapers at my CVS!! What’s the deal with that? It is some very dark complected baby! For awhile there I thought you all were hispanic!

  8. So today’s ad, I see 2/$5 on the toothpaste (Colegate) and ‘get back $5 on a $10 purchase. So we’re at 4 tubes for $5. But the $1 coupons are easy to accumulate. I’m at 4 tubes for the dollar.

    Irish spring soap is on the same offer of $10. That’s 6 bars for $3. Or after the bucks, 6 for $1.50. Minus my $1 off the two 3 packs, and I’m at 50 cents for 6 bars of branded soap.

    The mrs and I have different last names and I have her second key tag on my ring, so I’d get to take advantage of the $5/$10 deal twice this week. (And there was some shampoo that was free after bucks, but I have a $1 coupon, so they’ll pay me a $1 to try it. Hey, that dollar just paid for all the toothpaste, but you knew that! (Yes Jen, you can be a bigger dork, you can be ME.)
    JOE


Leave a Reply

