The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works For Me Wednesday- My Secret Beauty Weapon February 19, 2008

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:13 pm

worksformewednesday.jpg First, a disclaimer, I am pretty sure I am stealing this idea from someone else on the internet. I can’t remember if I read it on another blog or in a magazine. If I am ripping you off, call me out in the comments, and accept my apologies (and thanks for the tip that is makin’ me purty).

Anywho, you know those advertisements for mascara where the woman has like 4000 times the normal lashes of a normal person. Somehow despite the fact that I go out and buy that same mascara, my eyes never look like that. Mine often resemble something akin to a balding spider. The most annoying part of it is, my hubby has the most gorgeous, thick lashes. Why, God, would you waste such beauty on a man???

Anywho again, I have discovered the secret to making your lashes look thicker and more luxurious without glue and some Tammy Faye lookin’ fakes. Get yourself an eyelash curler and hold that baby under the hair dryer for a handful of seconds. Not too long or you will singe all your lashes off (not a good look on anyone). Curl your lashes and apply mascara. I get 5 times the normal curl as a cold curler. My eyelashes almost look as good as the hubby’s.

*This post is in no way meant to at all imply that my husband is at all girly looking. He is all man ladies. All man, with really purty lashes.

For more great tips, head over to Rocks In My Dryer.

 

24 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday- My Secret Beauty Weapon”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Great tip! I can’t wait to try it in the morning. Won’t my hubby be surprised that I put on make-up at all?!

  2. Forgetfulone Says:

    Great tip! I’m gonna have to try it.

  3. CC Says:

    Cool (ha! ha!) idea! But the heat and wind hurt your eyes???

  4. Trixie Says:

    LoL!! Thanks, you’ve given me such a good laugh! I love your description of 4000 times the lashes of normal women– I’ve always thought the same thing. Those pictures are so hugely unlike what my lashes look like:)

    Take Care,

    Trixie

  5. Oh Jill. My hubby has the world’s longest, most beautiful eyelashes too! What is WITH that? it’s just not right! Good tip though. I might have-ta go get me a curler!

  6. goodideamomma Says:

    Still sounds like too much work! Now I have to try to find an eyelash curler and a blow dryer? Good for you for wanting pretty lashes, though!

  7. Aaaaah. Great idea! Thanks for sharing.
    I’m right with ya; the Hubby has the most unfairly long eyelashes. 🙂

  8. tonsofsons Says:

    WOW!!!!!!

    I love and can’t live without my eyelash curler!

    Can’t wait to try this…

    http://tonsofsons.wordpress.com/

  9. Robin Sampson Says:

    Neat idea. My grandmother told me to use vaseline before mascara but its kinda lumpy looking.

    You have been tagged for the “What’s On Your Refrigerator?” meme. It is a Meme and a contest! I’ll be give away two free home organization books. Read all about it at http://heartofwisdom.com/heartathome

  10. That is a great tip! I’ve been trying to find a way to pretty up my lashes. Thanks!

  11. Jess Says:

    Hey I just stumbled on your blog from the link list on the original site! Very cute!!!

    YES!!! I’ve done this before and it’s amazing the difference!!! I haven’t done it in a while though, so thanks to your post I’m going to start doing it more often 🙂

    Wanna hear something really funny, though?? One time I was too lazy to plug in the hairdryer because my curling iron was already plugged in and I didn’t want to have to un-plug that, plug in the hairdryer and then plug the curling iron back in and wait for it to heat up (yada yada…laziness I know). So I had this briliant idea to lay the eyelash curler on the actual curling iron rod to heat the metal. I completely forgot about the meltable instert, however, but quickly realized my mistake as I went to curl my lashes and the insert smooshed out. Didn’t make for pretty lashes that day…gripe. Anyways, thanks again for the great reminder!

  12. mmm. torture on a stick + heat. sounds great. no, really. at least maybe the heat sterilizes the thing in case you’ve ever shared it? which we would never do, right?

    i think i need to see some Before and After pictures to get a real idea of what this does for you . . .

  13. Smellyann Says:

    Add my husband to the list of those with gorgeous, thick, long lashes! Sigh. I will try this – thanks!

  14. Great idea! I have never heard of that one. Will have to give it a try.

    You are so right about the guys getting the nice eyelashes – I have never understood that!

    Stacy
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/AussieinAmerica/484373/

  15. Sonshine Says:

    LOL!! Thanks for the good laugh this afternoon! My hubby has long curly lashes too!(so long they swipe his glasses!) He is all man too!

    Thanks for the tip! Might just have to give it a go on my pathetic lashes.

  16. Alana Says:

    What a great idea! Since mascara is the only make-up I wear I will have to try this tip. Thank you.

  17. Britni Says:

    I’m gonna have to try this out… I’ve got a husband to compete with too!

  18. My husband has great lashes, too. At least he passed them on to our daughter!

  19. Jeni Says:

    Good idea – I’m going to try it, since my lashes are sparse & short.

    And the most beautiful lashes in my family belong to my nephew – it’s just not fair!

  20. I’m actually going to buy an eyelash curler to try this out! Thanks!

  21. Katrine Says:

    I was just complaining that eyelash curlers don’t work! I am definately going to try this one!

  22. adventuremom Says:

    I just had my third baby, what the heck is mascara?

  23. Kim Says:

    That’s too funny! I never thought to do this. Thanks.

  24. Phyllis Says:

    neat idea…and one I haven’t heard before…I’ll try it out for sure!!

    My son got the awesome lashes in out fam…but I’m not sure who from!!


Leave a comment