The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

An Oscar Quickie February 24, 2008

Filed under: Random Life Moments — thediaperdiaries @ 11:41 pm

oscar.jpg I am a major sucker for award shows. The stars, the gowns, the suspense, the silly musical numbers. The stupid writer’s strike has robbed me of some of the good ones this year and I was starting to get worried that the award show of all award shows was not going to happen. Thank God those crazy writers finally thought of someone other than themselves and settled the strike. We were dying around here!!!

Anyway, you have not watched an award show until you watch in on DVR. You get the stars, the canned humor, the gowns, and the worthwhile awards without the “other” awards. You know the sound editing, cinematography, make up awards. Now I am sure to someone’s mother, these are a majorly big deal. Or for the dude who struggled his way through film school to finally be recognized for his camera work. No offense dude, but nobody cares. Even if you were introduced by Halle Barry, nobody cares. Sorry, your mom cares. And Lily and Hannah if you go into costume design, your mommy and daddy will care.

But what the world really cares about is that Jessica Alba looks really cute pregnant. That Jon Stewart was really funny. That George Clooney’s girlfriend’s dress was kind of heinous (sorry to be catty, but you are dating one of the most attractive men in Hollywood and you should have a spectacular dress). That I hate Kerry Russell a little bit for being that skinny after having a baby not so long ago. That Jack Nicholson still gets a front row seat and wears those stupid sunglasses despite being in nothing worthwhile this year. That Katherine Heigel could seriously not be more beautiful or likable all at the same time.

Let me also be very clear, the last movie I saw in the theater was Veggie Tales. Before that Bee Movie. I am not exactly a connoisseur of fine film these days. I had not seen a single nominated film this year and hadn’t even heard of half of the nominated actors and actresses. So that is why I prefer an DVR’d Oscar quickie. Let’s just get down to business and get to the big awards and fast forward through all the other unnecessary stuff. Aah, good stuff.

P.S. If you are a DVR rookie, you should know the Oscars ALWAYS run over so you should always tape the show afterwards. Otherwise you will be sorely disappointed when midway through the presentation of best actor, your show cuts off. Thank God, I’m no rookie.

 

9 Responses to “An Oscar Quickie”

  1. Sonia Says:

    Dude, next year I’m liveblogging it because I can rewind the stupid comments on DVR!

    DVR is the greatest invention in modern history – I lurve it.

  2. Kati Says:

    I couldn’t agree more! DVR is one of the best inventions ever! EVER!! What could have been a very long, and at times boring 3 hours, was an enjoyable hour and a half thanks to my trusty DVR!

  3. M Says:

    I am going to watch the DVR version today even though I know who won. I was at the Bon Jovi concert last night so I didn’t get to see Jon Stewart and the opening act.

    P.S. Bon Jovi was AWESOME! Daughtery opened for them.
    P.S.S. DVR is the best invention EVER! There is no other way to watch an awards show (or any other show for that matter!).

  4. Chandra Says:

    I definitely agree that the DVR has saved the day but I have all but given up hope on awards shows! Who actually watches the nominated movies these days? It seems like they have gone so artsy and don’t honor any of the movies that people actually want to see.

  5. Heather Says:

    i was bummed to miss them this year – the first real awards show all year! but my parents took me and david to see blue man group last night – a total trade-off. I’ll have to get my update on people.com.

  6. I wholeheartedly agree with you and all the other commenters that DVR is amazing. Really, whoever invented that was a genius!

    I do have to say, however, that there are plenty of people who care about those “other” awards. Most people probably don’t, that’s true…but there are still a lot of people who do care. If it weren’t for the behind-the-scenes people, movies wouldn’t exist. Then again, I’m a theatre major, so I probably have a biased viewpoint on the subject.

    There’s a quote that my professors have told us actors during our time at the university: “If it weren’t for techies, actors would perform in the dark, on a bare stage, naked.” So true.

  7. wearethatfamily Says:

    I love DVR and The Oscars. Just don’t have time to watch everything or win an award!

  8. Kathy in WA Says:

    I have to admit, I’m a sucker for all the magazines that profile page after page of the fabulous (and sometimes downright crazy) dresses. 😉

  9. jubilee Says:

    Don’t know where my brain was, but when I saw the word “quickie” in your title (even though “Oscar” preceded it), I was thinking that you were adding to your 1 Cor 7:5 challenge. Though a wonderful post, I must admit to being disappointed and chagrined when I realized I evidently had the wrong “quickie” in mind. OOPS.


Leave a Reply

