The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Brainwashing of the dangerous kind February 25, 2008

Filed under: Quotes — thediaperdiaries @ 10:04 pm

hockey-puck.jpg They say children’s minds are like sponges. Lily’s absorbs information at an alarming rate and she has the memory of an elephant (what the heck does that mean??).

So, today as I’m reading a news magazine, Lily comes over and looks over my shoulder. It was an article about how Obama and Clinton are in a tight race and had pictures of both candidates. She said to me, “Which one is running for President?” Ok, why she even knows this indicates we may be following politics a little too closely around here. Anyway, I told her both of them and asked her who she liked better. She pointed to Hillary and said, “I like her. Her outfit is pretty and I just really like the way God made her. But Daddy says she doesn’t have very good ideas.” So wise already at 4…

Then, every night when we put Lily to bed there comes a point where we tell her no more talking. More nights than not, this takes a few reminders (I have no idea where she gets this annoying trait of not knowing when to shut her mouth). But often times in these quiet moments, I get a little window into her soul when she says something in a whisper right before she falls asleep. Tonight, it was this:

Lily: “Mom, what would happen if all the hockey players on the ice got put in the penalty box all at one time and there was no one left on the ice to score? Could that really happen?”

Tonight her soul told me that the hubby’s brainwashing goes far beyond political (which honestly is just the healthy Republican kind) and has crossed over into the dangerous, threatening realm of hockey. Seriously, I can’t take it if I have one more hockey obsessed person in this house. The season is like 10 years long. So I have decided I will start brainwashing her my own way. You know in the movies when they brainwash people and they strap them to chairs and hold there eyelids open while they show them images. It will be like that, but with music and dancing. Oh yes, I will brainwash my daughter to love a good musical. She loves singing, she loves dancing…all the basic building blocks are there. So next time when the hubby asks her to watch a hockey game, she will look up at him with that face he can’t resist and say, “Daddy, can we please do West Side Story instead?”

Evil cackle followed by maniacal laughter.

 

12 Responses to “Brainwashing of the dangerous kind”

  1. Devon Says:

    Well, this is my first visit to your site (via Shalee’s Diner) and I found myself chuckling several times. Unfortunately, my husband may have brainwashed my 21-month-old in a much less healthy manner. We were sitting around one evening when my husband “tooted.” I said, “CASSIE! Daddy tooted!” She looked at him, looked at me, LIFTED HER LITTLE LEG and let one blow! I was mortified, amused, and bewildered all at once! She got a big goofy grin on her face and started doing the little laugh where their whole abdomen bounces up and down. Oh, eesh! What is going to happen with our son that is due in June?!?

    Anyway, loved the site and have added it to my daily blogs! 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  2. Ahhh, a good musical is hard to beat… try Oklahoma, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers or Singing In the Rain. Oldies but goodies. I fully intend to brainwash my kids using musicals… and I sing along too! 🙂

  3. misty Says:

    yes…. we are the musical family here, and finally (Finally!!!) won my husband over too. (At least I say that. He would deny it, but he hums and sings along with the rest of us. And God forbid he not be included in the purchase of Wicked tickets…)

  4. Chandra Says:

    My girls are all about High School Musical. If I can just convince them there are other musicals out there- then I win! Woo-hoo!

  5. Jessica Says:

    Ahhh. Musicals. I think I should do that again. Good luck with the brain washing!!

  6. wearethatfamily Says:

    Music. And brainwashing. It’s what parenting is all about!

  7. canearl Says:

    That is so funny!!! My husband and I have brainwashed our oldest to love football as much as we do.

  8. Ryan Says:

    If only I was home to help her learn about the NHL trade deadline today.

    Loved the post babe.

  9. Ryan Says:

    Oh, and Lathrop just reminded me that a great deke and the horn going off after a goal counts as dancing and music. Good point Dave.

    And as long as I’m here, let me plug my blog since if only .21% of my wife’s readers check it I hit record numbers:

    http://cubiclecongregation.wordpress.com/

  10. SAHMmy Says Says:

    LOL–I’ve been counteracting hubby’s Star Wars brainwashing with repeated viewings of The Music Man, Annie, etc. So my son knows every name of every Star Wars character and which ship they fly but also knows all the words to the songs from my fave musicals! He’s gonna be on information overload by the time he’s five 🙂

  11. Heather Says:

    That is too funny !!! At least your husband is giving her great advice about the canidates.

  12. mom2fur Says:

    I love Musicals! I’m a Rodgers and Hammerstein freak, LOL! And West Side Story is a favorite, too–Stephen Sondheim is the best.

    Elephants do have remarkable memories. They have to migrate long distances to find water in the dry season, and the head elephant (they are matriarchal, so it’s always a grandma elephant!) will always remember where to find the most remote waterhole–even years later!
    If elephants come across an elephant graveyard, where there are bones of the deceased, they will sniff and caress the bones with their trunks for quite a long time before moving on. They honestly seem to feel emotion, including grief.

    I love elephants!


Leave a Reply

