The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Second Verse Same as the First March 24, 2008

Filed under: Family,Quotes — thediaperdiaries @ 9:11 pm

sick.jpg Hannah is sick again. She started acting weird yesterday afternoon and soon she was sporting flushed cheeks and a warm forehead. Then while the hubby and I were catching up on a DVR’d Survivor, we started to hear odd noises through the monitor (how did people parent before these things were invented?). By the time midnight rolled around her fever was 102 and she threw up. We changed sheets and clothes, gave her some Motrin and hoped for the best. Needless to say, it was a really long night.

And then today…was a really long day. There is something really sweet about having a sick kid. They get really cuddly and curl up with you on the couch and fall asleep on your chest. Then there is the not so sweet. The whining, the clinging, did I mention the whining. That bad thing about having a sick kid (besides the constant fear that you will catch whatever they have) is that your other kid gets totally neglected.

Lily spent the day watching too much TV, begging mommy to please play with her and trying to stay out my “way too short on sleep” path. At the end of the day, when the hubby got home to give me some relief, I pulled Lily over and snuggled her a bit (probably infecting her in the process).

“Mommy is really sorry I didn’t get to pay you much attention today.”

“That’s OK Mommy, I paid attention to myself.”

 

10 Responses to “Second Verse Same as the First”

  1. Oh, that is no fun. But, isn’t it amazing how resilient our kids are, and how forgiving? Amazes me daily. Hope everyone is feeling better soon.

  2. Tammy Says:

    That’s so sweet…Lily’s comment….that is.

  3. Chandra Says:

    I was hoping we were all done with the illnesses, but I heard from another friend this weekend that they were making another round. Sorry to hear that it has hit your house as well! Hope the little one is well again soon!

  4. Yuck. I can’t believe what an awful winter it has been for illness!!

    Lily rocks.

    And to answer your question about how people managed without monitors; people used to live in very small houses. Like mine. We hear every wheeze, sneeze, and sniffle sans monitor. I… guess.. that’s a benefit of living in a shoebox.

  5. misty Says:

    awe! That’s sad and sweet all rolled into one… Bless her heart!

  6. awww! I’m feeling a tad under the weather and so are my boys. I hate to see them sick. It’s not fun and then my oldest daughter gets neglected. she always says it’s ok but I still feel bad!

  7. Georgia Mom Says:

    So sorry she’s been sick. I miss those days when my kids were little and they threw up in their beds during the night, ran fevers and slept in my lap for hours. Oh wait… I found my mind… sorry I had lost it for a moment. What I meant to say is, I’m so thankful my kids make it the toliet to throw up, can swallow big people pills for fevers and they would rather lay on the couch, than in my lap. Enjoy them while they’re young.

  8. Mandy Says:

    Sorry you guys have the sickies…we just got over it. They went through our entire household! I am always amazed as well about the other child and the ways they cope. It all works out in the end. Hope the rest of you don’t get it and I hope your child gets better soon.

  9. awww…I had a sickie baby last week and a neglected older child as well! we live parallel lives, my friend.

  10. domesticallyblissed Says:

    Oh sick babies are no fun at all … its so worrying! LOL at the earlier comment about living in a shoebox, we are the same here and have never needed a monitor!


Leave a Reply

