The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

7 Random Things Meme April 1, 2008

Filed under: Meme — thediaperdiaries @ 12:21 am

seven.jpg So here is how you know you might have a blogging problem. I had a bad headache and so I ended up falling asleep at 7 pm during what was supposed to be a “I should lay down for a second and see if this headache will go away” moment. I woke up briefly at midnight and felt I MUST check my email quickly before falling back asleep. I then noticed I had been tagged for a meme and couldn’t stop my brain from thinking about “7 Random Things.” So now I am awake at 1 am and I thought I just need to write this stupid thing so I can get back to sleep. This is sooo sad.

So here is the deal Chanin over at What’s With All the Pink tagged me for this meme. I have actually done this before, but there are always random facts to be shared so I will do it again. Here are the rules:

1) Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog
2) Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3) Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4) Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

  • Chanin stated over at her blog that she didn’t know my name. It is Jill. My kids have code names on the blog cause we are weird about the internet, but I am not creative enough to think of one for myself. When I was in high school I always wanted my name to be Jade. I think I thought it sounded mysterious and edgy. Which is so the opposite of what I was in high school
  • I didn’t know a ton of Jill’s when I was growing up, but there was 3 in my sorority pledge class of 30. There are now 2 in my Mom’s Club out of 20 and 3 in my MOPS group. I am one step away from becoming a Jenny.
  • My parents met in 8th grade and aside from 1 minor breakup have been together ever since. My dad was a jock, my mom-homecoming queen. They are still very happily married with their 2 kids, 1 girl and 1 boy. Yes, my life is like a black and white 50’s TV show. Kind of makes you want to puke a little, but I know I am extremely blessed.
  • I don’t maintain baby books or scrap books for either of my children. Lily has one that is mildly filled out, Hannah’s has her name and date of birth in it. My mom (who meticulously recorded every event in my first 3 years of life) finds this appalling, but I am just setting the bar really low so my 3rd and 4th kids (if they decide to make an appearance) can’t ever complain that the first kid got all that stuff and they didn’t.
  • Apparently when I was little (per my meticulously detailed baby book) I made up the word “booglio” and used to say it to anyone and everyone. No one knew what it meant. Lily appears to have done the same with the word “poogywaggy.”
  • I drive a 1995 Subaru Legacy station wagon. It is the poor man’s Outback. I truly like my car, but long for the day we have a car where the driver and passenger can control their own heat (dream big people) so my hubby will stop turning off the heat cause his feet are sweaty while mine are slowly turning into blocks of ice.
  • I firmly and strongly believe that the heat setting in a car should always be only at the feet, while the air conditioning should always be only at the face. It drives me crazy when my hubby tries to do this any other way. Fascinating.

So there you have it. I have no idea who hasn’t done this meme, but if you want to, consider yourself tagged and let me know in the comments you have done so so I can come check out your randomness.

 

12 Responses to “7 Random Things Meme”

  1. Chanin Says:

    Jill-yay! Now I know your name! Thanks for playing along! I have to tell you that I don’t keep baby books or scrapbooks for my kids either. I always felt so bad about it, but now I feel a little better knowing that I’m not alone…

  2. Jackie Says:

    I too have to have the heat setting on the feet. I hate cold feet!

  3. Britni Says:

    You know… I really like black and white 50’s lives. Mine didn’t start off that way (my parents got married in high school), but it’s kind of turned that way since. Or at least I feel that way… there have been ups and downs for other family members but nobody in my immediate family. I definitely feel blessed for that. Thanks for sharing the randomness. It’s nice to get to know more about people.

  4. Well, here’s another mom who doesn’t keep baby books for any of my kids. I would never buy a new mom a baby book. Never. Unless I really didn’t like her.

  5. yeah, being a Jenny SUCKS! Blecccch.

  6. stacey Says:

    I feel the same way about my son’s name-totally did not know any Luke’s, then “bam”, there they all were!

    TOTALLY agree about heat on the feet!

    Just tell your mom that blogging is the new scrapbooking! Although, you kinda need pictures to make it complete! My blog is my son’s scrapbook right now!

    Did you know your comment section is partially covered on teh right by your right column? I can never see the last few words of each sentence I write!

  7. Amen sister! Heat to the Feet & Cold to the Face! My husband does not understand this.

  8. Jill Says:

    I can relate to the Jill thing. I did not know one other single Jill all of growing up, but now it is not that uncommon. And I can also relate to the heat on the feet thing and cold on the face. My husband will change it up too. I guess it is because he is almost in socks and shoes everyday, where I hardly ever where socks. hhhmmm…

  9. kate Says:

    try kate. or katie. there are tons of us. I think I had 5 in my sorority pledge class and at least 5 at my church

  10. natalie Says:

    I feel the same way about the heat/air issue. I hate hot air blowing on my face or cold air blowing on my feet…glad to know that I’m not the only one!

  11. emily Says:

    we have a legacy wagon and prefer it–it’s no “poor man’s outback”–the outbacks are just trendy and overpriced. go subie!

  12. Donielle Says:

    Seriously…what is wrong with men? I thought it was just my husband that drove me crazy with the whole heat/ac thing! And we actually have a Jeep (for sale – you want it?!) w/ the dual heat controls. Believe me, you’re not missing anything. It doesn’t work how it really needs to cause it has to be within just a few degrees of the other person. 😦 and you can’t change the way the air comes out, like it has to both be on the face. Now if that could change……


Leave a Reply

