The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

The Most Precious Of Times April 4, 2008

Filed under: Motherhood,Quotes — thediaperdiaries @ 10:19 pm

 Lily has been asking a lot of questions about heaven and angels lately. She has always loved angels, but lately, I think because of Easter, she has been asking a lot about what heaven is like. They are great conversations. Really scary, because I feel like  I must be so careful how I answer, wanting to get it right. But her little 4 year old brain amazes and challenges me in how it thinks of things and asks the tough questions. This was our conversation today.

Lily: Mommy, don’t ever leave me.

Me: Of course I won’t.

Lily: No, I mean when you go to heaven. Don’t leave me.

Me: Sweety, mommy isn’t going to heaven for a long time. Not until I am very old (I pray) and you are old and are a mommy yourself (I pray).

Lily: I know, but when you are old and you go, do you think I could wrap my arms around your neck really tight like this (and she demonstrates)? Do you think if I did, you could take me up there with you?

I don’t know how long we stayed like that, but at that moment…I never wanted her to let go.

 

12 Responses to “The Most Precious Of Times”

  1. marquita Says:

    These are the mommy moments that make it all incredibly worth it.

  2. Heather Says:

    Aren’t moments like that with our children so beautiful?! And isn’t our God beautiful for blessing us with them?! Thank you for sharing this!

  3. Chandra Says:

    What a sweet girl you have!

  4. stacey Says:

    that is precious!

    thanks for fixing the columns!! 🙂

  5. Death and Heaven are such bittersweet topics with kids! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Wow. It’s always nice to know that you’re loved huh.

  7. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Very sweet! I love when they “get” it–that Heaven is a wonderful place, but it does freak me out when my son says he wants to go there right now.

  8. Toni Says:

    That is absolutely precious.

  9. Lisa Says:

    that just gave me goosebumps! wow, what an amazing little one. 🙂


Leave a Reply

