The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Friday- Know where your money goes April 17, 2008

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:24 pm

 The reason I believe in being frugal isn’t always out of necessity, but out of a belief that it is my calling to be a good steward of what God has given me. And part of being a good steward is giving back a portion of what we have been given. Some people believe in a tithe, some people believe that is too little, some people too much. My personal belief (take it for what you want) is that God asks us to give a regular portion of our income and that it is an area he constantly asks us to stretch and re-evaluate.

Anyway, we give mainly to the church, then a couple of other organizations we strongly believe in and then we have this slush fund that we have to give out of when something comes up. It is out of this fund I give to my mom who is running a marathon for the Leukemia Society (at age 60!!!), a church drive that comes out of nowhere or a friend that is doing some sort of service project.

One of the organizations that we give to out of the slush fund from time to time is the Susan G. Komen foundation. My mom and aunt are both breast cancer survivors and I have lost a few friends to breast cancer so it is a cause that I feel passionately about. And if you pay attention to the breast cancer cause, you know that most all the money that is to be donated when you purchase something with a pink ribbon on it goes to that organization.

So imagine my confusion and dismay when I stumbled upon this article. The net out being that Susan G. Komen gave over $700,000 dollars last year to Planned Parenthood. What saddened me the most is that my local chapter gave a very large chunk of change. Obviously this is quite upsetting to someone who is strongly pro-life.

Yet, when I think about it, this should bother more than just pro-lifers. When I give money, I want to know that it goes to the organization it says it’s going to. I got an unsolicited call the other day from an organization gathering money for veterans. When I asked them how much of the donation went to veterans, they told me 20%. Even if we give solely to the church, we shouldn’t blindly expect that they are being good stewards of that money. My former denomination gave all sorts of money to purchase very weird and liberal curriculum.

I could climb way up high on my soapbox and preach on this for hours, but I fear you would tune out and miss the point. It is not OK for our money to end up places we don’t want it to. And when it does, we should demand that it doesn’t or we should stop supporting these organizations. Just being generous frankly isn’t enough. We need to understand how the money is being stewarded by those give our money to. Stepping down off soapbox (for now) to get back to cutting coupons.

 

22 Responses to “Frugal Friday- Know where your money goes”

  1. Georgia Mom Says:

    You bring up such a good point! It’s very important to look at where we are donating money. We could think it’s one thing, but end up being entirely different. Research the organization and ask questions. Why in the world would a breast cancer organization give money to Planned Parenthood? It makes my stomach turn! Great post!!!

  2. CLEAVERMAMA Says:

    Nicely said!

  3. happyhousewife Says:

    This is a great point. We give too and I always throughly research before giving. Like you, I don’t want to find out that my money is going to help support abortion, or some other cause I completely disagree with!
    Toni
    http://thehappyhousewife.com

  4. Niki Says:

    Great advice!

  5. CoCo Says:

    As a breast cancer survivor, I am soooo disappointed that the money I have made a point to give to Susan Koman is going to support ending life rather than saving life. What a contradiction. Get the Word out. I think a lot of people would be totally shocked by this.

  6. stacey Says:

    this is shocking and unacceptable! i am going to link to you when i share this and email my friends!

  7. Heather Says:

    I have been in the practice of looking up how much of my donated dollar goes to administrative costs, but I’ve never researched how much gets donated elsewhere. Great post! I will definitely be doing more research before my next donation!

  8. Great post! Great information- I didn’t know that about the Susan G. Koman foundation- that is eye opening!!

  9. mytotalchaos Says:

    Great post. When I give to a charity I always ask how much will actually go to the people they are helping. It NEVER occured to me that my money may get re-donated to someone else. Thanks for the info. I will definetly be re-evaluating where I send my $$.

  10. lifeafterbaby Says:

    I am constantly questioning our church about their budgets and spending. Not that I don’t trust them, but they line up meetings and offer to answer questions about the budgets and where the money is being spent. Apparently last year there were a total of 2 people who took advantage of these budget meetings and Q&A sessions out of a church of 5,000 with a membership of over 600. There aren’t enough people involved or asking questions about where their money is going, in my opinion. And since I give regularly, I feel like I have an interest and say in where the money is going.

  11. Mandy Says:

    Wow. I never knew SGK gave to PP! I am strongly pro-life as well and was actually planning on attending/supporting our Relay for Life in two weeks. Hmmmm….I need to rethink that. Thanks for the link to the article as well. I am stunned.

  12. CoCo Says:

    Is the Relay for Life for the American Cancer Society?

  13. Mandy Says:

    Hmmm….maybe it is!! I will have to check on that! I always thought it was for SGK! Whew! That may make a difference!

  14. Mandy Says:

    I just Googled…it is. Sorry for that and thanks to CoCo for asking!

  15. anne Says:

    I’m glad that Jenna is one who is willing to ask questions!! I am usually involved somewhat in the budgeting process here and there so I know quite a bit about how we spend, but it is SO good to know. And the whys are important as well. There may be a really good reason for something you might not like at first.

    Good for you for finding this stuff out and being able to make good decisions.

    I need to go cut some coupons myself…

  16. Andrea Says:

    Oh, that makes me sad adn concerned. I participated in a lot of stuff with SGK in college and save all my yogurt labels and have even thought about running. Though no one I know has had breast cancer, i just always felt so strong about this orginization since it affects so many women. Like I said before, this makes me very sad especially since I am pro life very much as well. I’m gonna have to do some reasearch. Thanks for the info.

  17. Wow, I am totally shocked and disappointed. This is an excellent post and you made really good points. This is one reason I have discovered that I like being treasurer or part of a financial committee in organizations belong to – not that I’m a financial whiz by any means but I like to know what is going on and keep up on being able to how to understand financial reports. Clearly I have not done a good tracking where the money I am donating goes though.

    Thank you for this.

  18. NO! Please! Back up on that soapbox! We NEED to hear about current issues and contradictions to our faith.

    I always appreciate your view.

  19. Adlyn Says:

    I can’t believe that Susan G. Komen would do something like that I really makes me sad.

    great advice

    http://adlynmorrison.blogspot.com/

  20. If it makes you feel any better, Planned Parenthood does do some very good things… I’m very much pro-life but Planned Parenthood saved both me and my wife hundreds of dollars on birth control when we couldn’t afford insurance. I got birth control (while married) for the first year of marriage, and my sister-in-law (married for five years) has gotten her birth control there since she got married. So maybe your donation helped me out personally. Thanks.

  21. adventuremom Says:

    Working for a nonprofit here is some advice when making a donation. By law if you write or designate exactly what your money will do for the organization they can not use toward anything but what you designate it for. So for breast cancer you can write a note with your check that says designate for research or some other part of their organization needs you feel is where you want your money spent. By law they can not use your money towards anything else.

  22. Auntie N Says:

    Getback up on your soapbox and preach some more. GO GIRL!!

    I’m thankful for your research. It benefits us all. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

