The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Cleary we should just build a bubble April 21, 2008

Filed under: Motherhood — thediaperdiaries @ 9:37 pm

 Well, I was “that mom” today. No, not that mom. You know, the mom that brings their sick kid to something infecting every other kid there. In my defense I was “that mom” by accident. Kind of.

Lily woke up this morning complaining of a stomach ache. She went on and on all morning before school about how much her tummy hurt. What you should know at this point is that she does this 2 out of 5 mornings. She is the hypochondriac that cried wolf. She tends towards a flair for the dramatic where injuries are concerned. I’m not sure where she gets it (ahem). So this morning I tended to ignore her. Plus, seriously, have we not already had round 2,3 and 4 of bugs around here? I am pretty sure that once the sun comes out you are off the hook for the sickies. However there probably were a few red flags that this one might be the real deal.

She said she didn’t want to go to school. Lily loves school. Lily lives for school. Every morning she has to look at the calendar to see if she has school and if so, what they will be learning and who will be the special helper. She hasn’t yet gotten to that age where faking illness gets you out of school so if she says she is too sick to go, one should probably listen. However, in my defense once again, she was wavering on this fact all morning. Second, she kept asking to lie down on the couch. She doesn’t typically want to lie still unless there is some sort of animal or spanish speaking character on the TV. Then of course she could lie still for hours upon hours, but otherwise not so much.

Still, I thought she seemed fine so we pressed onward. When we got to school I told the teacher that she had complained a little, but I thought she was OK and to call me if she decided she wanted to come home. I asked her once more if she wanted to stay and she said yes and went off to play. I began to head to the gym with Hannah and made it about 3 blocks before the cell phone rang, “Lily just threw up.” Fabulous.

I felt so awful for having sent her and that her poor teachers had to clean up the vomit explosion that apparently took place. I brought her home and laid her down. Of course Hannah wanted to crawl all over her and I so I went into distract Hannah mode. Finally Lily said, “Mom when Hannah is sick you should cuddle her, but when I am sick, you should cuddle me.” Touche. I called my mom to take Hannah and focused on Lily.

We snuggled the day away. We had several more pukey episodes broken up with a few hour long naps. It is possible I took one to for moral support. It is so miserable to see your child sick. She is truly the most amazing little sick person ever. She rarely complains and handles vomitting like no other. But she had reached her limit today. At one point she looked up at me with big, sad eyes and said, “Mommy, do something.” My heart broke. I could do nothing.

She seemed to turn a corner at around 7 pm tonight and her personality began to come back. She kept a popsicle down and began begging for food and water, neither of which she had kept down all day. Bedtime hit and of course she wasn’t at all tired. At about 9:30 she looked at the hubby and declared, “I am ready to go to sleep now and fell asleep almost immediately right on the couch.”

Let me just tell you, this day stunk on 100 different levels. I missed my workout. I got nothing accomplished. I missed out on gorgeous weather. I had to clean out a vomit bowl all day. But I wouldn’t trade this day for the world. My 4 1/2 year old “big girl” snuggles with us less everyday. She is still quite snuggly, but I don’t for a second think these days aren’t passing by quickly. And today, I got to be a hands on, full fledged, desperately needed mom. What an honor, what a privilege, what a blessing. So thanks puke bug. Now your dismissed.

 

11 Responses to “Cleary we should just build a bubble”

  1. kate Says:

    What a great story. My oldest, 2 1/2, is not a cuddle bug at all, so when there are those moments of sickness, I do try to love them.

    I think we have had sickness like you too. This year is the worst.

    hopefully it doesn’t travel through all of you.

    btw – love reading your blog.

  2. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Throwups are the worst. Great silver lining though! Glad you got your cuddle on in the midst of the upheaval. Hope the worst is over.

  3. Mandy Says:

    Sweet story. I hate that the bug came back for a visit! At least you did get to have your cuddle time–even if it was between bucket cleanings!

  4. Char Says:

    What a trooper she is. I hope that she’s feeling better soon, and don’t worry – you’re not the only mom to send her kid to school sick. Clare puked at her Christmas party because she wanted to be there so badly, and I went against my better judgement and sent her anyway. It happens to all of us 🙂

  5. You know sometimes days are just like this, and there’s nothing you can do to control it. Sorry.

  6. Yep, the only cuddling I get from Bubbalu happens when he is sick.

    I feel like Supermom when he comes to me just to lay his head on my shoulder and get a lovey hug.

  7. I hope she’s feeling better. I have done that to my daughter as well. She does tend to fake being sick to stay home so if I don’t pay attention to the cues She goes to school sick only to come home again an hour later.

  8. Jane Says:

    Poor Lily! Hope she’s feeling better by now!

  9. Andrea Says:

    Sometimes we need to cuddle. Love it! Hope she stays better!

  10. skiplovey Says:

    Aww what a sweetie. Glad she’s feeling better. And what a trouper about being sick. I think I’m more of a baby about being sick than your four year old.

  11. Poor little girl. Throwing up is the worst. I hope she feels better soon. I know what you mean about the snuggling as they get older it’s few and far between.


Leave a Reply

