The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Works For Me Wednesday- Transition for Formula to Milk April 22, 2008

Filed under: Works for me Wednesdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:05 pm

 You know how you do something that frnakly you just do, but then you tell someone else and they think your brilliant. Don’t you just love it when that happens? Here you are, going about your business just thinking your a mediocre mom and then someone tells you one of your ideas is brilliant. Well, maybe she just thought is was kinda cool, but you hear “You’re brilliant” so work with me here.

So here’s the deal. You know when you have fed your baby a bottle or a boob for a year and then suddenly you tell them, ok, time to switch , it’s cow from here on out. Yeah, I’d be a bit frustrated too. So I have a little trick up my sleeve to help make the transition go a little smoother. I take the sippy (or bottle) and fill it 3/4 full with a yogurt smoothie (we used organic so our girls wouldn’t hit puberty at 7) and then 1/4 full of whole milk (once again organic for us). Then I gradually added more milk and less smoothie until we were at 100% milk.

Apparently breast milk (and formula) is pretty sweet and cow milk is a bit salty so the smoothie takes the salty edge off. My children who previously were having nothing to do with the cows milk were suddenly gulping the stuff down. Problem solved. See how nicely that works for me. I hope if you have this problem it works for you. No need to call me brillaint. Mediocre will do just nicely.

For more brilliant tips head over to Rocks in my Dryer.

 

18 Responses to “Works For Me Wednesday- Transition for Formula to Milk”

  1. canearl Says:

    That’s a great tip. God willing I’ll never have to use it since we hope we’re done :). Congrats on being #1- I thought that this might be the week I beat you, but it wasn’t meant to be. I bow to the master :).

  2. Lady Why Says:

    Very cool idea! I’m just now trying to get my little guy to drink something out of a sippy cup. He’s not a big fan of the sippy so far. Maybe some smoothie will help?!

  3. toddlertimes Says:

    kudos for breastfeeding for a year! I have a 1 month old and I hope I can breastfeed for as long as I can! =)

  4. LadyWhy, the sippy cup was such a problem for us, too. I think it also hurt us that we used those Playtex bottles with the liners and our kids never actually tipped the bottles up to get the formula out so they had a hard time grasping that move. I got these sippy cups with soft spouts (Nuk I think?) that were more like bottle nipples and they made the transition so much easier.

  5. I wish I had read this tip when my kids were little. My almost 14 year old daughter never did transition from breast milk to cows milk. To this day she does not drink milk or put it on cereal although she’s perfectly happy with yogurt in a smoothie or a bowl of ice cream!

  6. Ooohh.. I will try to remember this in a few months when it’s time. We’re still nursing, but baby is starting to show some interest in big brother’s and big sister’s cups of chocolate milk… this is a much better option! : )

  7. goodideamomma Says:

    I sorta did this with Silk Soy Very Vanilla, Fortified for Kids. With the girls being lactose intolerant, this was the best way for them to get the protein and calcium that they so needed!

  8. Missy Says:

    Thanks for this brilliant tip! 🙂 I’ll have to remember it in a few months!

  9. Char Says:

    I will have to remember this and pass it onto my sister-in-laws. THey have babies turning 1 this summer, so they will be going through the transition.

  10. runningamuck Says:

    What a great tip! Thankfully, all four of mine made the transition well but I’m holding this little gem of information for all my friends who are still having babies (my youngest is 19 months old).

  11. Devon Says:

    Sadly, I tried this and it did not work for me. 😦 I think that my daughter has texture issues…it was just too thick. SO, I tried milk with strawberry Quik in it…still didn’t work. I can’t get her to drink milk for anything. Any other ideas?!? 🙂 She’s almost 2 now, so I’m hoping that we can try like 1% or something and see if the “thinner” milk is more accepted. I’m not so sure, though…

  12. skiplovey Says:

    Oh perfect timing, we’re just about to make the transition. I’ll definitely give that a try.

  13. silver Says:

    @Devon, my kids doesn’t like milk, either. His doctor said it’s okay as long as he gets his calcium and protein from other sources. Oh, and that he gets outside for vitamin D.

  14. CLEAVERMAMA Says:

    NOPE you do actually have brilliant moments and that is why I love you!

  15. dawn Says:

    Great tip! I do not have any children yet, but I will try to remember this one!

  16. April Says:

    Ooh, I’m going to try this! Currently, my little guy throws the cup of milk when I try to give it to him.

  17. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Fantastic tip! I was wondering why the baby loves Mama, loves cow milk, but obviously knows the two apart. Maybe this will help nudge her toward weaning! Thanks!

  18. Christina Says:

    so timely. I’m still breastfeeding my twins and tried to switch to cow’s milk and it was not going over so well. I think this idea will work BRILLIANTLY! My older two had no problems with the switch, but these two little monkeys have other ideas…. so I’ll try this one out!
    thanks for the tip!

    Christina


Leave a Reply

