The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Things I Love Thursday- A Plumm Summer April 23, 2008

Filed under: Things I Love Thursdays — thediaperdiaries @ 10:08 pm

 Don’t you miss an old fashioned “family film.” Cause the stuff labeled family coming out these days leaves something to be desired in my opinion. Now, I have mentioned before that I am hyper-picky about what I will let my kids watch, but still. The Dove Family Film Festival, a local festival here in Michigan has Bratz on the schedule. Since when is hoochy, over sexualized dolls “family fare.” Oh soapbox, how I want to leap up onto you right now. But I won’t.

I was given a preview of a new, independent family film called A Plumm Summer. Now, this is a true family film. Minus a tiny bit of mature content surrounding a alcoholic father and a few too many uses of the word stupid (a major pet peeve of mine) this is really a movie the whole family can watch and root for (by whole family I would suggest about 7 year olds and above, but I like I said, I am a bit conservative on this front). No violence, no swearing, no gratuitous sex (or sexual innuendo). Why isn’t Hollywood making more of these movies?

Probably because we aren’t demanding it. And not supporting when it is made. Now these movies might not be quite as fancy as the big budget stuff, but one of my favorite family movies of all time is about a pug and cat and I don’t even think there is an actor in it. This one has The Fonz, Billy Baldwin, and a super cute little boy reminiscent of that Jerry Maguire kid.

Here’s the premise: The innocence of an idyllic small town is torn apart when famous TV puppet ‘Froggy Doo’ is kidnapped and held for ransom. A Plumm Summertells the remarkable true tale of two young brothers, Elliott and Rocky Plumm, who go head to head with the FBI in order to crack the ‘frog-napping’ case and get their beloved Froggy Doo back on the air, all the while becoming local heroes and best friends.

It is only out in limited releasein California, Alabama, Minnesota and Montana in select theaters on Apr 25, 26, 27 and May 2, 3, and 4, so if you live there please check it out. Remember Hollywood will put out crap until we demand otherwise. So please support quality family films so we don’t find Bratz IV in theatres anytime soon.

 

4 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday- A Plumm Summer”

  1. MrsScotsman Says:

    I am not at all a fan of the BRATZ dolls. I did however get the movie from the library and surprising liked it. My daughter is 2 and was napping when I watched it so I wasn’t looking out for age-appropriateness . The girls didn’t dress hoochy in the movie. It is about 4 best friends entering high school. They are torn apart by pressure to hang out with people like them. (One is on the soccer team, one cheers etc.) They eventually figure out their friendship is more important than sticking to their cliques. The term BRATZ in the movie comes from a band they form at the end.

  2. saph Says:

    Sounds like a movie I’d like. Were you referring to Milo and Otis? I loved that movie!
    Too bad this movie isn’t being shown near me in Tampa.

  3. I was having a conversation with my husband the other day about how there just aren’t any more good family films anymore. They’re all from when we were kids. Everything that is “family film” now is animated. What happened to things like Swiss Family Robinson and Chitty, Chitty, Bang Bang. I’m gonna have to check this one out. Thanks!

  4. emilypage Says:

    The Apple Dumpling Gang, The Shaggy Dog, Benji…

    I hate that Bratz were ever invented. It makes me very sad. Did you see Surf’s Up? I was very upset that I took my child to see that movie…of course, she isn’t old enough or wise enough to catch some of the references, but it still bothered me.


Leave a Reply

