The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Benefits of Unpopularity April 25, 2008

Filed under: Family,Motherhood — thediaperdiaries @ 9:55 pm

 You know how there are times in parenthood when your child prefers your hubby over you. You know how it kind of hurts a tiny bit that they never seem to want you and sometimes even scream when the hubby hands them to you and leaves for work every morning. You know how you remind said child that you once carried them for 9 months inside of you and have the stretch marks to prove it. You know how you might also remind them that you pushed them out of you with no drugs whatsoever which is quite painful actually and they should be forever grateful for all you do for them.

You know when that pays off? When that same kids begins screaming when you are in the basement watching TV and one parent has to go up 2 flights of stairs to comfort her repeatedly throughout the night and though you try once, she begins to scream “Daddy” and will only be comforted by him thereby leaving you off the hook for the rest of the night so you can blog and watch TV in peace.

 

10 Responses to “Benefits of Unpopularity”

  1. Haha!!! FINALLY!

    Some friends and I were discussing this subject : Mama is the daily constant, needed mostly for basic needs, and Papa is the fun one. However, when Bubbalu is sick, he wants me. That’s the ONLY time I win. That, and coming home (again) from a week long cruise. THEN he wants me 🙂

  2. Jane Says:

    I’m drooling (a little) – It was me who got up at 2 a.m. to catch up on some blog reading this morning, only to have baby cry around 3 a.m., and Daddy only got her to cry more. So me being the favorite, I had to go console her and get her back to sleep.

    Though I really am jealous those times she wants Daddy instead of me.

  3. Mandy Says:

    Awesome. And when exactly does the preference change? My boys are still calling for me….

  4. stacey Says:

    it has not happened to me yet, but PTL when it does! enjoy!

  5. Sunshine Says:

    I was the favorite when they were babies (being the food source and all that) but now hubby is the favorite parent since he is not the primary disciplinarian. So, those moments do come in handy when they’d rather talk to him than me.

    I may get them back someday, who knows?? Probably when they’re learning to drive and I think I’ll be nicer about it than hubby.

  6. Julie Says:

    I was totally feeling the same way this morning…my daughter gets so excited to see her daddy, but is not so excited to see me. Poor mommy! : ) But you definitely have a good point about being off the hook!
    Julie

  7. Holly Says:

    So glad I am not the only mommy who is not the prefered parent.

    I have been reading your blog for a while now. . .I am hooked! 🙂

  8. Andrea Says:

    We go through phases of that. Right now little one is on a daddy fix and that is why I am here on the computer blogging away while Daddy puts him down for his nap!

  9. misty Says:

    oh, i know this very very well! my big little one (almost 2) only wants daddy! this is offset by my little little one wanting (er, needing) me more… such is life! glad you got the night off to blog and watch tv!! 🙂

  10. jilma Says:

    This is great!!!
    As the momma to 10
    I’ve learned to teach them to say “Daddy”
    way before they say “Mommy”!!!

    I enjoyed your blog!!


Leave a Reply

