The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

A Catastrophe of Monumental Proportions April 27, 2008

Filed under: Random Life Moments — thediaperdiaries @ 9:41 pm

  I don’t want to alarm you, but we have had a major problem here in the Diaper Diary household. It began Friday night and after much investigation it appears it isn’t immediately fixable. I am coping as well as can be expected, but it has been a tense couple of days.

Our dishwasher is broken. Wait, let that sink in (sink, get it-that ones for you Mom). Do you realize what this means? We have just gotten a new dishwasher. Her name is….me. Actually that is a complete lie. We have just been letting the dishes pile up in the sink. De Nile ain’t just a river in Egypt my friends.

My wonderful father-in-law has been by a few times today to try and fix the problem and we are definitely making progress, but we are still not in the clear. I do a lot of housework well…OK, mediocre at best, but I don’t DO dishes. And a new dishwasher is not how I wanted to spend our tax rebate. Unless it came with a matching stainless steel refrigerator and stove. How much are those rebates again?

To my readers who don’t have dishwashers: you have my deepest sympathy. My hat is off to you cause I wouldn’t last more than a few days. Actually, I am thinking I would throw all that “Earth Day” stuff out the window and just go with all paper and plastic. I would buy some trees to plant in Africa to offset my carbon footprint of course. You can do that right?

 

12 Responses to “A Catastrophe of Monumental Proportions”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Thank God for working appliance! Hope it gets fixed soon! Hey, at least it’s not your washer/Dryer…how horrible would that be?!

  2. I actually gasped when I read that your dishwasher is out!! That’s horrible. This may sound weird, but have you tried craigslist? Our dryer just when out and we got a good used one there. I was surprised at how many people sell perfectly good appliances cheap just because it doesn’t match their new stuff.

  3. Jane Says:

    You can do this! I have great faith in you! You will survive this catastrophe and live to tell about it.

    And yes, I have survived without a dishwasher for the past 5 years. If I can, anyone can!

  4. I don’t even do dishes when I have a dishwasher. I couldn’t imagine going back to not having one. Good luck, sounds like a toughie!

  5. CoCo Says:

    Oh, come on!!!! Put on your big girl panties and deal with it!!!! Aren’t you reading Little House in the Big Woods? At least you don’t have to go out and shoot your food!! Love –Your Mom

  6. Your mom’s comment cracked me up, but really, I am not a dish-doer either. So you have my deepest sympathies!!

  7. Chelsea Says:

    I SO feel for you! Our dishwasher went out the week before Thanksgiving (and the entire in-law crew was coming over) .
    I ended up hiring my neice to come over once or twice a week to help conquer the mountain of dishes that would appear! out of nowhere.
    We are supposed to be getting a new dishwasher this week or next. I pray it doesn’t take this long for you.

  8. Char Says:

    Your mom’s comment cracked me up! I wish you luck. I don’t know what we’ll do when our dies – it’s coming soon I fear, as now we can’s use the save heat buttons on it. Ah well, such is life – hopefully you don’t have to use your refund for a new one.

  9. Stacey Says:

    I am giggling at your mom’s comment because that is exactly what my mom would say! She has never had a dishwasher..yeah that’s right, you heard me.

    As someone who despises doing dishes,I send you my deepest sympathies during this time. I hope you can get a dishwasher very soon!

  10. Shannon Says:

    me and Tristan are walking in the March for Dimes event May 3rd in Oak Ridge and we would love it if you would sponsor us! We have set a goal for only $150 and with your help maybe we can get there. Plus your helping babies like Tristan and overall helping fight premature birth!
    Click on this link http://www.marchforbabies.org/palmersf
    to go to my March of Dimes page and sponsor us!

    Shannon and Tristan

  11. natalie Says:

    I feel your pain! I lived without a dishwasher for the first year & a half of my marriage. Looking back, I still don’t know how I did it, but I vowed to never live without a dishwasher again!

  12. erin g Says:

    “earth day” around here means USE paper and plastic – our church has been for months, and the governer asked us all to STOP using cloth diapers. the drought is out of control.

    sorry about your dishwasher. 😦


Leave a Reply

