The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

A Clothes Shoppin’ We Will Go May 3, 2008

Filed under: Fashion — thediaperdiaries @ 10:08 pm

  I am a reformed clothes-a-holic. By reformed, I mean my husband put me on a budget when we got married. Cause when we met I had no budget. And possibly a huge closet full of clothes. It is also possible many of them had tags on them. I may have had a problem, but let me be clear, “reformed” means I am on a budget. It does not mean that if I won the lottery tomorrow I wouldn’t buy a whole new wardrobe with a walk in closet to match.

So today, in the spirit of a new month, I hit the mall to spend my clothing budget. In the spirit of Vintage Dutch Girl who is always showing the world what clothing she would buy, I thought I would let you share in the booty I hauled home today. Please note, I will not be showing my actual booty. Sorry to disappoint.

First, my white pants. I heard they were a must have for the spring. I will confess as I was buying them I was thinking, “Where on earth can I stay at home mom wear white pants?” Tonight I wore them to church. And 2 people told me I looked skinny, so I just might wear these everywhere.

I wore them with a green polo shirt and these shoes.

I felt a little bit like you should call me Buffy as you handed me my ice tea at the country club.

While at Penny’s I also got an adorable white blouse and some awesome white wedge sandals, but I can’t find them on the website and am too lazy to go take a picture of them. Clearly white was a theme. Which I think is a brilliant choice when raising children who constantly are covered in jelly.

While at Payless, I discovered they were having their BOGO sale and I felt that it would just be plain wrong not to buy another pair. Not only wrong, but frugally irresponsible. So I bought these.

And I still had some budget left over. Where to spend that money?? Target might just be calling my name. Yes, I know. I have a problem.

 

 

13 Responses to “A Clothes Shoppin’ We Will Go”

  1. Love those shoes!

    Btw, thanks for visiting me this weekend while I’ve been in bed recovering. Your comments cheered me up!

  2. The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem 😉

    I’ve been stuck in the first step for a LOOONNNNGGGG time…

  3. Maxime Says:

    Love love love the green wedges!!!

    I think I need to talk to the hubs about a clothing budget……

  4. Kati Says:

    I don’t have a problem..ohhh wait…..

  5. anne Says:

    I wouldn’t call that a problem…just, geez, ask me to go with you next time, K?

  6. Char Says:

    We ended up at Shoe Carnival yesterday, and they had the same sale – Clare got 2 new pair of shoes, and I did too. I figured I deserved it since I haven’t had new shoes in like a year or something.

  7. I am thrilled that white pants are a must have this spring because I have a pair that I actually wore to church today too, and wasn’t sure if I was even in the right decade. Everyone around me was in beige, but if you say so…

  8. goodideamomma Says:

    You are so very brave to wear white. With these two little Picassos over here, it is a rarity that any light colored clothes are worn by anyone in my family.

  9. adventuremom Says:

    White pants! You are brave with little kids. 🙂

  10. karenamundson Says:

    Guess where I’m going today? JC Penny’s to use my $10 coupon on guess what – those white pants & maybe the shoes. Love them!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  11. karenamundson Says:

    Oh and I love the Payless shoes. I swear whenever I go in there I can’t find anything cute. But then I’ll comment on someone’s shoes and they’ll tell me they got them from Payless. I don’t get it. I might swing by there too and see if we have them. I would have never guessed Payless!

  12. I went out and bought myself some white capris right before the cruise and LOVE Them. Don’t know what it is about white, but I’m hooked. My husband and I just agreed last night that we will be spending our economy stimulus 50/50. He gets $600 to buy a new suit, and I get $600 to buy a new wardrobe. Yippee for money that was not included in our budget cause I need some new clothes.

  13. Krysty Says:

    Uh oh…Playful Professional might have just given me too many ideas about spending the stimulus. Not good!
    Love the clothes & shoes, Jill. Will you come shop for me now? I hate shopping for myself! Too overwhelming! I’ve always said I needed a personal shopper, but maybe I just need to follow your website and go from there! 🙂


Leave a Reply

