The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

Frugal Fridays- Frugal Gone Bad May 15, 2008

Filed under: Frugal Fridays — thediaperdiaries @ 9:26 pm

  So I have mentioned before that I use The Grocery Game to save me money at the grocery store. I have ended up stockpiling a lot of food so my weekly grocery shops have begun to consist of just getting the necessities. Fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, milk, hostess cupcakes. The essentials.

Yeah, so, when I looked on Grocery Game this week, I noticed that Hostess 100 calorie cupcakes were 50% off. Now, I have never eaten these before, but I had a coupon and they were cupcakes so I thought, AWESOME, 50% off cupcakes that are only 100 calories. And they look like mini ho-hos. So I put them on my grocery list and head to the store.

Except when I get there…no Hostess 100 calorie snacks. They are cleaned out!! I even got a stock person to check the back room. No, cleaned out. And I have my mind set on these cupcakes. The thought of them is consuming me. And I think, “There is another Meijer on the way home (a not so nice one) I will check and see if they have them.” So I buy the rest of my groceries and head to Meijer #2….cleaned out. I should have just gotten a rain check at this point and gone on my merry way.

But I want these stinkin’ cupcakes. I try and placate my tummy with other forms of chocolate, but it will not be appeased. It wants Hostess cupcakes and nothing else. The hubby, most likely tired of listening to my rants about the lack of cupcakes at the 2 Meijers I have now visited, suggests that he run to the pricey grocery store a block away. This makes perfect sense you say. I would get my cupcakes, problem solved. But I know they aren’t 50% off there and although logically I could just use my coupon there, I am committed to the Meijer sale now.

So today, I drive to yet another, well stocked, Meijer and finally get my cupcakes. I ate 2 packages on the way home, totally blowing the point of the portion controlled packaging. And I am confident the money I spent on gas far out weighed the savings on the cupcakes. And I wasted a ridiculous amoung of time running around town looking for these cupcakes. Still, those cupcakes were some kind of yummy.

Moral of the story: sometimes being frugal can be taken to far. Sometimes the need to get a deal can overtake all sane parts of your brain. With gas being what it is, it might not make sense to go to lots of stores just to get a good deal. But if you do go a little wacko, you better make it for something good. Cause chocolate is the cure for all kinds of crazy.

 

13 Responses to “Frugal Fridays- Frugal Gone Bad”

  1. adventuremom Says:

    OMG are you funny! I need to learn about CVSing.

  2. Candace (Mama Mia) Says:

    If it makes you feel any better I would have done the same thing!!

  3. Jackie Says:

    Oh, this is so you and I’ve only known you a few years.
    Why didn’t you just take that Meijer ad to D&W and ask them to price match, they usually do, and use your coupon?

  4. Isn’t it crazy? I have been in the same situation a few weeks ago searching for the softsoap spa deal.. I never use it but I just want to get the deal. How crazy is that! 🙂

  5. Tara Says:

    Oh my word, that is so funny!!! It’s amazing what we will do for sweets.. LOL With the gas prices and how precious “time” is… a coupon better be pretty valuable for it to be worth it now days. lol (I did that once with a buy one get one free for doz. krispy kreme donuts.. made my husband go out of his way.. and well we both consumed nearly two dozen in one night and felt incredibly guilty for weeks.. have not bought donuts since lol)

  6. lifeafterbaby Says:

    OK, so how many times have I built a grocery list around a deal like that and gotten almost all the other items in the cart to find that my ‘big deal’ is sold out. I stand there staring at the empty shelf like someone in a coma in total disbelief and wondering if I just abandon my cart now and walk out of the store if they’ll re-stock by the next day so I can re-shop all over again. It’s a disease. I understand it. There’s no cure except to get the deal one way or another, no matter how much gas or time it takes. I’m thinking of calling ahead to the grocery store before I go to make sure they have the solitary item I am determined to get before I shop next time now that gas costs more per gallon that I earn in a month…unless it’s my birthday month.

  7. Oh yes, you gotta be careful with those smoking good deals! Your waistline can suffer drastically!

  8. Megan Says:

    Just got on your blog for the first time – you’re hilarious. I’ll be reading regularly!

  9. Becky Says:

    That is hilarious and if I’m not careful, I catch myself thinking to do the same exact thing!!!!

  10. Jen Says:

    Funny post! I’ve been guilty of eating my treats on the way home from the store too. 🙂

  11. Oh yeah. I have totally done that before… my practical suggestion is to get a rain check. My real suggestion is that we form a team and attack the deals weekly. We’d need lots of equipment – such as Blackberrys to communicate and track it. And GPS. Don’t forget the GPS. Good deals must be had, at any cost 🙂

  12. Auntie N Says:

    OK, I’m going to be a real wet blanket. It seems to me that anything that consumes so much thought and energy becomes a god! Sorry, I felt “consumed” to write that:-(

  13. Paige Says:

    Way to save money on those cupcakes.

    Funny! And I’ve done the same thing before (not with cupcakes, but other stuff).


Leave a Reply

