The Diaper Diaries

but hopefully not full of crap

All My Quirks…and then some June 6, 2008

Filed under: Meme — thediaperdiaries @ 10:15 pm

   I have been tagged by Big Binder to share with you a few of my quirks. I actually think a few of these are already well documented (feet, dishwasher loading, etc.) and I am always thrilled to know through my comments that there are other freaks out there besides me. Women, we are a freaky, mysterious creature. Anywho, here I am in all my quirky glory. And I apologize if I have told any of these before, but maybe, just maybe there are only so many quirks to share (or I am very forgetful).

  • I can’t eat food that is on a bone. It seriously freaks me out. I have to have the hubby cut it off the bone somewhere where I can’t see him before I can eat it. While we are on the subject, I also don’t like it when food touches on my plate. Really gives me the heeby-jeebies.
  • I shave my big toe. Please tell me I am not the only one.
  • Songs by Steve Winwood are like nails on a chalk board to me. I feel like if I was a dog and his song came on the radio, I would immediately begin howling. I don’t however howl when I hear his songs. But I can’t stomach them. Sorry to the Steve Winwood fans of the world. Please don’t stop reading, I have many other wonderful traits.
  • Lately, I have been using the word “wonky” a lot in sentences as in “My dishwasher is acting wonky again and I have to get it fixed.” Sadly, this is in fact true and I am again dishwasher-less. I am dying a slow death.
  • I don’t know how to make a pot of coffee. Truly. I don’t drink it so I never learned. Now, we have a french press so I am even more confused. So if you want coffee and the hubby isn’t home, you are out of luck.
  • My biggest pet peeve in life is women who squat on the toilet seat and leave a splatter of pee on the seat. Doesn’t that completely defeat the purpose??? If you are grossed out by germs on the seat then don’t pee all over it for me to have to sit on. Either sit or wipe up your pee!! (I may be a. PMSing or b. still upset from a public restroom incident earlier today).

So there you go. Wanna play? Mama Mia you are required to, you are my meme go to girl 🙂 Anyone else? Let me know so I can come learn that you are as quirky as me.

BTW- when I think quirky, this is all that comes to mind. Enjoy…

 

 

19 Responses to “All My Quirks…and then some”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I shave my big toe too!! I thought I was the only one:-) I have been reading your blog for a few weeks and love it! I noticed you are also a big So You Think You Can Dance fan too? Anyone who is a fan of the show and shaves their big toe is worth reading about!

  2. Oh that’s classic Muppets! We sing it “banana nut” though.

  3. Oh, the Squatters. Don’t get me started. If you are going to squat, at least have the decency to clean up after yourself. Ick.

  4. darthchrista Says:

    I dislike the toilet seat thing too. Sit don’t squat! I mean seriously don’t you wash your hands after using the public restroom, unless you are then rubbing your behind, pretty much the germs are a non-issue.

  5. Devon Says:

    I just posted 2 memes on my blog…one being the “quirks” one. Hope you have a great weekend!

  6. canearl Says:

    This one looks fun- I need to come up with my list :). Can’t help you out with the saving the big toe thing- sorry. I’m with you on the squatting thing though. I’ve also been known to use the word “wonky” a time or hundred.

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Well of course we shave our big toes. What’s the point of having nice smooth legs, only to have a hairy big toe?! 🙂

  8. Char Says:

    I too dislike women that hover! Come on…it’s a toilet…if we all just sat on it don’t you think there’d be less germs than with pee splatter. One of my biggest problem with this was when Clare wasn’t big enough to just sit on the seat, and she’d have to hold onto it with her hands to keep her tooshie up. UGH…it’s so nasty when someone doesn’t keep the seat clean, and I don’t catch it before my little one sits on it!

  9. Kati Says:

    French Presses are a PIECE OF CAKE! 🙂 Add your coffee, add your water, let it steep for 4 minutes, press the plunger and voila….coffee! But I might have a leg up since I worked for starbucks and that’s their preferred method…..oh and yeah for big toe shavers! guilty!

  10. These are pretty fun quirks. It’s always fun to learn something new about people.

  11. Jean Says:

    I too am a shave toe-er and I also do not know how to operate a coffee pot. Glad I’m not the only one. 🙂 Thanks for being quirky!

  12. Erin G Says:

    I’m proud that you first admitted to shaving your big toe on my blog! re: the food on the bone… my husband is the same way with peach and mango pits. you people are weird.

  13. Jessica Says:

    I shave my big toe too. Amazin bc I barely have any other hair to shave. And it is too painful to pull-until-they-die. ouch.
    AMEN to the toilet tirade. I could go on and on that.
    I have a french press and dont know how to use it. Guess I will have to try ^^Katie’s^^ method. Starbucks never fail. Right?

  14. bigbinder Says:

    OK so is it all Steve Winwood? Including his Traffic days? Or just the solo stuff? I really need to know. Oh, and both my kids know how to work a French Press so you can get a quick lesson from them if you need to.

  15. Jen Says:

    You are not alone. We could form a club of hairy toe shavers.

    I am a squatter but I always wipe the seat, unless of course it was already gross to begin with. Then I can’t bring myself to wipe other people’s pee. Sorry

  16. Heather Says:

    I’m with ya on the toilet seat piddlers. I really DO NOT like a wet tushy!

    But I do love manamana! Thanks for the great reminder!

  17. joy Says:

    i am totally with you on the toilet seat thing! oh my gosh that drives me insane. Personally i’m a sitter. I have no strength to hover that long, so i always pre-wipe i mean ALWAYS! funny post. oh and i shave my big toe too. hairiest toe i’ve got!

  18. Lori Says:

    Love your blog and I’m new to blogging. Can you teach me how to “meme”?

  19. Jerri Says:

    Yes I shave my big toes also.

    I don’t even know what a french press is, or who Steve Winwood is.

    As for toilet seats, I like to line them with tp. Of course, it’s very irritating when the tp slides off just when you need it.


Leave a Reply

